Open 11:30 am 'til Midnight Daily
Food Served 11:30 am 'til Midnight
Monday - Saturday and 'til 11 pm on Sunday

Del Charro
 

What a great place to stop for a burger with green chile! Good green chile corn chowder too. Fun place to hang out with friends and watch people walk by. Sit by the open floor to ceiling windows for a better view.

mainline

This is the Bar of the Inn Of The Governors Hotel. Its a great place to grab a drink, eat casual and cheap food and also watch a game. Like I said the food is very cheap (burgers, quesadillas etc.) But you have to try the home made chips with ranch or the loaded french fries, they are delicios. The drinks are good and cheap. My only complaint about this place is that I’m a Long Island Lover and they not allow you to drink more than two.

mainline

One does not expect such reasonable prices within walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. We went here based on Tripadvisor recommendations and that of our tour guide. Service was quite slow and not very attentive, which is why I’m giving it four stars instead of five. A $6 house margarita, which is excellent, comes with a glass and the shaker–it’s like having two or three drinks in one (be careful–the higher altitude makes it feel like four drinks!) We had green chile corn chowder–a cup was only $2 (menu price of $4 is for a bowl, but the server suggested a cup since we were eating light). It was tasty with just the right amount of heat. The quesadilla was filled to capacity; the turkey club wrap very fresh. The burgers looked good, too. For a nice lunch on a shady patio, Del Charro was a home run–but not if you’re in a hurry. We needed a relaxing break, so for us it was perfect.

mainline

Their patio is a great place to spend an evening. It’s mostly covered with a high wall to block out traffic noise and a big fireplace for the colder months. Staff were friendly and attentive. The food is a great value with lots of smaller plates (which are actually a lot of food) for $7 and under. Most of it is bar food but we found a pork adovado burrito and stuffed poblano, which were both very good, if not entirely authentic. The house margaritas are also a great deal considering how much you get. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a laid back hangout place with great prices and good food.

mainline

I was in Santa Fe on a Monday evening in late April. I had three other restaurants in mind for dinner; two were closed and one was open but completely empty. I recalled from my research on TripAdvisor that the Del Charro bar got good marks so I stopped in as a last resort for dinner.

mainline

I’m glad I did. I sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and generous. He explained the basics of tequila to me (I had long since forgotten about the importance of agave content) and steered me toward the cheapest margarita on the menu. It was outstanding. It comes with its own shaker so it’s great value since you end up getting 2-1/2 glasses full.

mainline

I ordered chips with guac and pico de gallo and a tostada. I was very pleased. The menu seems a bit limited but I enjoyed my meal while watching the NBA playoffs and chatting with some interesting local residents sitting at the bar. It was nice to meet people who have lived in the area for many years. I enjoyed the conversation so much that I ended up staying much longer than I intended. I left town the next morning with warm memories of a genuine Santa Fe experience.

mainline

My total bill for the drink, chips and salad was $15. Excellent value.

mainline

  •   Del Charro is the restaurant that shares a building with Inn of the Governors. You get a discount if staying at the motel when you dine. The only warning I would give is to eat a little early. This place is popular!

    thumb Dr0idmaker
    3/16/2019

      If you go, have a shot of tequila and order nachos. Their margaritas are so sweet it’s gross. I sent mine back. Just got tequila on the rocks. Nachos are good. That’s about all I can recommend. Staff VERY nice!!!

    thumb KWS63
    3/12/2019

      Will be back everything was absolutely amazing!! The margaritas were a good price for what you get!!

    thumb danaem2012
    3/11/2019
  •   we only had drinks but they were very good. crowded Friday night but they were accommodating to squeeze in 6 of us for just drinks. seems like a popular local hangout

    thumb Lovelandlover
    3/01/2019

      Burgers were very good, and portions on other choices were large. The menu is somewhat limited after burgers, but food was well prepared and tasty.

    thumb revawesome
    2/19/2019

      This is a great spot for hanging out and enjoying the Santa Fe vibe, friends, and food. The chili is absolutely fantastic! I would say it is among the absolute best I have ever had in my life, and that hurts because I used to...More

    thumb SGSnMWS
    2/16/2019
  •   Delicious food served with courtesy and knowledge to describe each serving sometimes so well served that you can't finish eating the plate you asked for. the desserts are so good that you have to think about your diet never forget that it's say Santa Fe...More

    thumb Cristina R
    2/11/2019

      Well prepared food, good service, reasonable prices, and great margaritas. What more could you ask from a restaurant? This place had it all, as well as a cozy atmosphere with a fireplace blazing on a cold night. I can personally vouch for the green chile...More

    thumb Ken D
    2/08/2019

      My new OLD favorite place. New cooks? Or what? Anyhow, great food and the right taste. Definitely try the Burgers and the Chipotle sauce. ( I put that .....on everything!) Anyhow they are there for you, Great service too!

    thumb LocalgirlSantaFe
    2/04/2019
  •   First found this place by staying at the hotel. Found it to be fast, cheap, and surprisingly good. It’s got a bar next door, which is a locals hangout. This is not the typical hotel restaurant. And that’s good!

    thumb John Y
    2/02/2019

      I rarely dine in hotel's restaurants as I find them pretty much soulless. That doesn't stand for this one, belonging to the terrific Inn of the Governors hotel, where we stayed. After a morning sightseeing we came back for rest, after which we had fantastic...More

    thumb B1714D
    1/29/2019

      So I haven’t been to Del Charro for almost a years since the service was horrible and I felt the old manager did not want to take care of my issues due to the fact I wasn’t a tourist. Fast forward to about a week...More

    thumb javier a
    1/29/2019
  •   We were staying at the Inn of the Governors and this was a great option when we were tired or the weather was nasty. Limited Mexican menu was all good. Drinks were generous and good

    thumb Q9264HAsusanc
    1/28/2019

      A friend and I had lunch at Del Charro yesterday---I had the blue corn chicken enchiladas (with an Irish Coffee---I think they call it a Texas Coffee) afterwards. Both the meal and the drink were fabulous. In the summer they have outside dining in a...More

    thumb Ginny1234_5678
    1/20/2019

      This is a regular dinner stop for our family when in town. The food is consistently excellent. The service is great. The atmosphere is rustic, classic Santa Fe. One year there was even a mariachi band!

    thumb JulieSJulieS
    1/02/2019
  •   Family ate dinner at this restaurant attached to Inn of the Governors. My husband had the green chili blue corn tortillas and said they were three stars out of five. I had the chili relleno and it had way too much batter on it but...More

    thumb am88
    12/27/2018

      We eat here for lunch numerous times while we are in town! Fantastic food and amazing Margaritas that are the best in town and the best priced!

    thumb LLBDallas_Texas
    12/27/2018

      Got in late on Thanksgiving evening. The staff was wonderful and the food was phenomenal as always. The best burgers in town. The menu is small but everything is done well. And try the house margarita. Wonderful!

    thumb Rhonda D
    12/12/2018
  •   This definitely seems like a local hangout, which is great for a low-key evening with casual fare. Enchiladas were tasty and we'd certainly order again. Cocktails were OK. We had a few very generic margaritas that were a bit too sweet or too heavy on...More

    thumb runrabbirunn
    12/01/2018

      We chose to eat here, because it was close walking distance from our hotel and the reviews. My husband had the bison burger with homemade chips. It was moist and cooked correctly. I had enchiladas, they were spicy but not as hot as usual in...More

    thumb Judith M
    11/29/2018

      We chose to eat here, because it was close walking distance from our hotel and the reviews. My husband had the bison burger with homemade chips. It was moist and cooked correctly. I had enchiladas, they were spicy but not as hot as usual in...More

    thumb JudithM841
    11/29/2018
  •   We always hit this bar when in Santa Fe....incredible margaritas....best Nachos around. Really good food and really good and friendly service. Fireplace is a cozy spot if you can get one of those 4 chairs in front of it.

    thumb terrycarlson2018
    11/25/2018

      Nice restaurant in Sta Fe, we got here in November and was pretty cold but this place has a nice cozy fireplace where you can get warm while you get dinner or drinks. I tried for the first time Frito Pie and was amazing! Follow...More

    thumb AlbertoL646
    11/19/2018

      Nice restaurant in Sta Fe, we got here in November and was pretty cold but this place has a nice cozy fireplace where you can get warm while you get dinner or drinks. I tried for the first time Frito Pie and was amazing! Follow...More

    thumb nomadanyc
    11/19/2018
  •   We stopped in over the weekend while we were in town for a late afternoon lunch. The fireplace was wonderful and so was the drinks. Service was a little slow as I believe it was shift change. The fireplace made the whole visit so enjoyable.

    thumb jonistravels
    11/18/2018

      Inside the Inn of the Governors. This is my favorite spot to eat and drink in Santa Fe. Best house margarita in town. Food is also inexpensive with a lot of locals there for lunch and dinner. This is a must while in Santa Fe....More

    thumb Steinbrenner
    11/17/2018

      The food here is great! Huge portions and great prices. Far more than just pub fare. If you have doubts about the size of the portions, ask the waiter. What "seems" like a snack is really a full meal! Has a nice fireplace with pinon...More

    thumb Douglas M
    11/16/2018
  •   The daily specials were always good and so cheap! A $7 dinner is always a bargain and I couldn't eat half of what was served. The staff is so nice and helpful.

    thumb Tulippusher
    11/13/2018

      Ate there twice during visit - both times good food and good service. Food is on the "mild" side - not highly spiced.

    thumb Kathleen M
    11/10/2018

      The food was excellent and the prices were the best in old town Santa Fe. It was part of the hotel but had the independent pub/saloon feel

    thumb E1951VApeterp
    10/31/2018

mainline

  •   Honestly, Truly, no joke, they have the best quesadilla I've ever had in my life. I didn't know quesadillas could live up to such a high standard. Quesadillas have peaked at Del Charro.

    thumb Marisa R.
    8/17/2018

      Sorry to say, I'm not able to say anything positive about this establishment. We tried, without success to get a table. Before we could get one we were told to leave. We tried to get a drink and we're asked to leave again!Ive never seen a bar do that!NEVER BEFORE HAVE I SEEB A BUSINESS LIKE THIS!! NOT A FAN OF DEL CHARRO!

    thumb Vern D.
    11/23/2018

      this place is located in the cutest part of Santa Fe. There aren't very many places to get a late-night bite, but this place is open and the food is delicious. After a long day of driving we were looking to just experienced a little bit of Santa Fe before we went to sleep and we found this restaurant bar in cute downtown Santa Fe. Parking was easy. This is attached to a very nice hotel but you don't have to use the hotel to enjoy it. Our waiter was friendly all the people there were friendly and the margarita was outstanding. I hope you get a chance to give it a try

    thumb Annie A.
    6/20/2018
  •   So I'm a local and I come here all the time. I work downtown so Del Charro is in walking distance. I love this place but tonight, I was seriously disappointed. My boyfriend quit drinking for lent and the last day of Lent is tomorrow 3/30/18. So I convinced my boyfriend to break his commitment early tonight cuz I wanted to drink. We asked for a margarita and one beer. Maybe five minutes later I ask for a shot and the server tells me he can't my boyfriend anymore. They said cuz his eyes were red?!? Um he just woke up and picked me up from work. Hasn't been drinking for 40 days and they cut him off???? Like wtf? How rude! It's not the server who makes that decision it's the manager. So Uriah, the manager decided not to serve my boyfriend. So much for celebrating he's good work! Sad night at del charro! Fair warning don't go there if your eyes are red, or maybe there just discrimination?!?

    thumb Gloria S.
    3/28/2018

      The very best chocolate mousse cake I've had in Antarctica fe. I love the texture of this chocolate and believe me I know chocolate. Go here!

    thumb Sebastian R.
    7/08/2018

      First visit to Del Charro Saloon this evening to begin our Santa Fe Margarita Trail adventure.  Their specialty Santa Fe Trail margarita is excellent and a true original recipe.  Service was excellent. We shared a quesadilla appetizer to accompany the margarita and it was a perfect combo.  Saloon has a local atmosphere, and we look forward to returning.

    thumb Patty M.
    3/07/2018
  •   The food was fairly good for the price and the location of the restaurant is nice for downtown Santa Fe .  So, I cannot knock the overall ambience of the restaurant nor the quality of food as both met my expectations going in.  However, the service we received was beyond terrible, in fact terrible would be a compliment.  For one, our waiter only came by to check on us twice throughout our almost 2 hour time at the restaurant.  One of those times only happened because one of the members of the party actually flagged him down to ask for a refill of water. Even with this request, the water wasn't delivered to our table for another 30 minutes.  During the last hour of the meal the remainder of my party sat there with empty glasses and never saw the waiter again. We eventually had enough and got him to give us the ticket so we could leave. In order to make a statement towards him and his terrible service, I left him a 4% tip and then proceeded to the restroom.  Upon coming back from the restroom the other members of my party notified me that the waiter actually began to harass them about the tip amount. This is unacceptable and someone who wants to fight customers shouldn't be working in customer service. If Del Charro continues to have employees like this representing them then I'll discourage everyone from eating there.

    thumb Rob R.
    2/23/2019

      We stumbled on this place 100% by accident during a staycation in Santa Fe when we were hangry and looking for something to eat for Sunday Brunch. My only requirement was a Bloody Mary. This sounds easy but I don't actually drink alcohol and a lot of places premix theirs with alcohol so I wanted a virgin Bloody Mary that was actually really tasty!

    Luckily, we when we stumbled into this place by chance, they actually had an amazing Bloody Mary! Probably one of the best ones I've ever had! And their menu was perfect for us! John had queso with chips and a burger. It hit the spot perfectly for what we were both craving!

    thumb Ashley G.
    2/18/2019

      Another restaurant where the server  comes back with your order and asks who has this who has that a good server knows who ordered what especially when some people in your party ordered similar orders but slightly different and having to switch plates back and forth after there placed on the table another norm is having to ask for utensils after the food is brought out one of many restaurants who don't care or train there staff here in Santa Fe ...

    thumb Vince D.
    12/07/2018
  •   We were going to give this place 2 stars, but the service was really good and that's why we gave three stars. The food, on the other hand, was not so good. I ordered the daily special for Saturdays, which was chicken fajitas. The chicken was dry. I couldn't eat it. The rice was almost too dry to eat, but I ate a little bit of it. The best thing on the plate were the beans that tasted like they were straight from a can. I had to add some salt. My husband ordered bone-in chicken wings. They were supposed to be the best in Santa Fe, and they may be the best in Santa Fe, but not to us. We have had far more delicious wings elsewhere. The salsa for the chips had a very unexpected flavor. It was very smoky and very thick and like a purée or paste. We didn't really eat much of the chips and salsa. The fresh veggie/grilled tofu appetizer was exactly that, so it was good. The ginger dressing that came with  that dish was awesome. The drinks were a bit strong, but who can really complain about that, unless you don't like strong drinks like me, but my husband said leave it alone. We will not return to this restaurant, unfortunately.

    thumb Melissa H.
    3/01/2019

      Great place for a late night snack. We only sat at the bar but I liked the atmosphere. The quesadilla was reeeeaaaaaallllly goood! The margaritas and the queso both were not too bad either! I gave it 4 stars cuz it's great for a late night food joint.

    thumb Jesse B.
    11/02/2018

      I had some of the sweet potato fries and they were soo good! The service was attentive and I enjoyed the atmosphere.

    thumb Kaylie C.
    1/15/2019
  •   This has become a favourite place of mine. The reason is that it is consistent!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere and the drinks. Such a great place for locals and tourists alike. Carlos was our latest waiter and he was wonderful!!!

    thumb Kerry Y.
    8/28/2018

      After several recommendations, we had to try Del Charro Saloon for the margaritas and burgers. Needless to say, they did not disappoint! The house shaker margaritas are hard to beat and their burgers are well known for top of the line. They have a variety of margaritas to choose from, and we didn't find any disappointments.

    thumb Clint S.
    8/21/2018

      The food here is okay, but nothing special. The only thing that stands out to me is that I got food poisoning due to the restaurant not cooking the chicken on my salad through, at all. They didn't even bother offering to take it off the final bill. I'd avoid this place unless you want to be sick all night!

    thumb Jessica P.
    1/27/2019
  •   Special for today was chicken fajita. Really wonderful! Huge plate of food for $7.00 so was easy on the budget too.

    thumb Janet S.
    2/01/2019

      I dream about the Natillas. This is the best dessert that I have ever had! I need to plan another trip to Santa Fe just for this. Instead of having this once, I will have it every night I am there! It is very convenient when you are staying at the Inn.

    thumb Cindy W.
    3/16/2018

      I was invited here by a friend who actually lives in Santa Fe (I'm in the abq area).
    So I had never heard of this bar ever and oddly enough my boyfriend was telling me about their margaritas right before I got invited (odd coincidence).
    I wanted to try this margarita for myself so I ended up going. I ordered a green Chile cheeseburger with fries. It was good! But not five stars good.
    As for the margarita.... excellent! It came with the remaining in a shaker on the side. It was perfectly blended and strong without being overly strong. The price for these drinks is amazing for the amount you get.
    All in all the appetizers (tapas) were good and paired well with the alcoholic drinks.
    I would recommend this place to a friend who is looking for a place for a snack and alcoholic drink as they have many options of local and commercial beers on tap as well.
    It was a pleasant experience with friends.

    thumb Kim R.
    2/25/2019
  •   Soooo good! The service, the food, the vibe!
    Plus it's open until really late, which is rare in Santa Fe haha. Really recommended!

    thumb Eliran L.
    7/08/2018

      Disappointed- hamburger was tasteless, potato chips were also tasteless (no salt - homemade, I guess) and the House margarita was a joke.  It doesn't matter if you give a shaker with extra drink, if what you give doesn't have any kick.  We won't be back.

    thumb Jenny T.
    8/21/2018

      The hatch chili cheddar burger  here is IMO the best sandwich ever. period. anywhere.I can die happy now:) The CHARGRILLEd  beef patty has got to be 2 inches thick, cooked to desired doneness. It was juicy, perfectly seasoned awesomness on a toasted bun that was art in and of itself. The toppings were fresh and plentiful (LOVe purple onions on burgers). The sweet potato fries were also WHOA!  I ate here 3 times during my stay in SF and looking forward to coming back!! Thanks to all of the wonderful staff at Del Charro for making this trip  memorable and tasty. Special kudos to our favorite waiter Leonardo!!!!!!

    thumb Alma D.
    7/25/2018
  •   Our absolute favorite spot to eat downtown is Del Charo Saloon. Don't let the term 'saloon' fool you.  Sure, they have one of the best bars in town, but Del Charo is also a fantastic restaurant.  Their charming patio-side dining room has a cozy fireplace and the friendliest staff around the Plaza. Their prices are hard to believe.  The Caesar salad ($7.50) with chicken is a full dinner salad with a full grilled chicken breast plus a cute mini tostada of guacamole. The blue corn chicken enchiladas ($8.00) are perfectly prepared.  I think their flame-grilled New Mexico green chile cheeseburger ($12.00 with fries or side) is the best in Santa Fe...and the best value, too. If you want to enjoy a game in the saloon itself, try the nachos Royale ($10.00) for a full meal by itself. A full selection of soft and hard beverages makes this place perfect in every respect!

    thumb Greg B.
    1/20/2019

      Killer Margarita with Hatch Green Chili infused Tequila, probably the best Margarita I've ever had, and trust me, I've had quite a few. Nachos were great as well. Good ambience, fire roaring in the corner. Will definitely be back!

    thumb Adam B.
    11/17/2018

      Friday evening, four of us stopped in for a margarita and snacks.  We ordered house margaritas. Our order was delivered in timely fashion even though the house was very busy. Our margaritas were so sweet and disappointing,  maybe the bartender forgot the tequila,  who knows? Just a heads up in case you are inclined to get a house margarita.
    My normal choice is Guinness and a cheese burger, out of this world good.

    thumb James T.
    8/03/2018
  •   I love love love this place!  The Caliente Mango margarita is delicious. Perfect combination of sweet and spicy (but not too much of either).  Friday I had the basic $6 plate of nachos, which is really enough for 3 people!  Today the salmon wrap which was delicious. Plenty of salmon in the wrap and perfectly cooked (not over cooked and dry).  ServThis is my go-to spot in Santa Fe. Reasonably priced.

    thumb Claudine B.
    8/18/2018

      We couldn't even get in! The bar closes to anyone under 21 years of age after 5:00 Pm, so my girlfriend and I were turned away before we even had the chance to try the food. This made me angry because places like this exacerbate the problem of young people having nowhere to hang out in SF! We were just trying to have an honest meal with no alcohol but we were turned away because of our age.

    thumb Ted M.
    3/24/2018

      The best green chile cheeseburger I have ever had...no, I am not exaggerating. This was a beautiful, perfect burger-- the kind you dream about and almost never find. It's here and it's reasonably priced. The fries were pretty darn good and so were the chips I got to switch things up. The chips and queso with the tomatillo relish were excellent as well. Try the relish mixed into the queso, it'll be easier. I made a mess trying to do them separately. My dining companion just got tired of the sideshow and dumped it in. We scraped it clean in short order. That green chile cheeseburger though! OMG. I will be back for that again. Not even the hideous parking and creepy lurkers of downtown Santa Fe can stop me from returning. That is a vote of the highest kind-- I hate downtown. I'd rather go to crappy fast food than deal with the many horrors of downtown. I will face downtown for a green chile cheeseburger. Gladly. Willingly. Happily! Come get one with me. We'll sit in the bar and make nom nom noises to disturb other patrons. Let's go!

    thumb Aleatha R.
    3/07/2019
  •   A great restaurant! There is indoor bar seating as well as patio-type tables. Nice atmosphere and staff! Food was also very good with very reasonable prices. The lemon thyme salad dressing was the best dressing I've ever had!

    thumb Lana V.
    5/21/2018

      If you are looking for a place where the gray haired Cheers rejects went to be buddies with a younger bartender, this is your place.

    thumb John A.
    3/08/2018

      A local favorite. Great house margaritas and excellent burgers with all the trimmings you can imagine.
    A real deal saloon with historic  atmosphere .

    thumb Rob S.
    7/10/2018