Open 11:30 am 'til Midnight Daily
Food Served 11:30 am 'til Midnight
Monday - Saturday and 'til 11 pm on Sunday

Del Charro
 

What a great place to stop for a burger with green chile! Good green chile corn chowder too. Fun place to hang out with friends and watch people walk by. Sit by the open floor to ceiling windows for a better view.

mainline

This is the Bar of the Inn Of The Governors Hotel. Its a great place to grab a drink, eat casual and cheap food and also watch a game. Like I said the food is very cheap (burgers, quesadillas etc.) But you have to try the home made chips with ranch or the loaded french fries, they are delicios. The drinks are good and cheap. My only complaint about this place is that I’m a Long Island Lover and they not allow you to drink more than two.

mainline

One does not expect such reasonable prices within walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. We went here based on Tripadvisor recommendations and that of our tour guide. Service was quite slow and not very attentive, which is why I’m giving it four stars instead of five. A $6 house margarita, which is excellent, comes with a glass and the shaker–it’s like having two or three drinks in one (be careful–the higher altitude makes it feel like four drinks!) We had green chile corn chowder–a cup was only $2 (menu price of $4 is for a bowl, but the server suggested a cup since we were eating light). It was tasty with just the right amount of heat. The quesadilla was filled to capacity; the turkey club wrap very fresh. The burgers looked good, too. For a nice lunch on a shady patio, Del Charro was a home run–but not if you’re in a hurry. We needed a relaxing break, so for us it was perfect.

mainline

Their patio is a great place to spend an evening. It’s mostly covered with a high wall to block out traffic noise and a big fireplace for the colder months. Staff were friendly and attentive. The food is a great value with lots of smaller plates (which are actually a lot of food) for $7 and under. Most of it is bar food but we found a pork adovado burrito and stuffed poblano, which were both very good, if not entirely authentic. The house margaritas are also a great deal considering how much you get. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a laid back hangout place with great prices and good food.

mainline

I was in Santa Fe on a Monday evening in late April. I had three other restaurants in mind for dinner; two were closed and one was open but completely empty. I recalled from my research on TripAdvisor that the Del Charro bar got good marks so I stopped in as a last resort for dinner.

mainline

I’m glad I did. I sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and generous. He explained the basics of tequila to me (I had long since forgotten about the importance of agave content) and steered me toward the cheapest margarita on the menu. It was outstanding. It comes with its own shaker so it’s great value since you end up getting 2-1/2 glasses full.

mainline

I ordered chips with guac and pico de gallo and a tostada. I was very pleased. The menu seems a bit limited but I enjoyed my meal while watching the NBA playoffs and chatting with some interesting local residents sitting at the bar. It was nice to meet people who have lived in the area for many years. I enjoyed the conversation so much that I ended up staying much longer than I intended. I left town the next morning with warm memories of a genuine Santa Fe experience.

mainline

My total bill for the drink, chips and salad was $15. Excellent value.

mainline

  •   This restaurant is also a bar, so it is noisy. The food was delicious and very well priced! I highly recommend the homemade potato chips! Seating and service were challenging for some other friends that also ate there but we had great service. Margaritas are...More

    thumb Cindy G
    8/06/2018

      My husband and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors, so found ourselves here several times. Great service. Nice menu. Fun environment. Fabulous breakfast buffet, delicious drinks, good appetizers, and delicious food. We'll be back!

    thumb dawnlangl
    8/06/2018

      We heard it was good, so we went. Mistake. I totally understand it’s down in the popular part of Santa Fe , and I understand busy. What did not sit well was the extremely poor service, having to ask twice to please bring our water....More

    thumb ifs2014
    8/04/2018
  •   Two of us on the somewhat covered patio... it was ok. Very generic Mexican food. Portions modest, and flavors timid. Small draft beer selection. We'll look elsewhere next trip.

    thumb LabmeisterII
    8/02/2018

      In our opinion, it's the best sports bar at Santa Fe if you sit at the bar. On our last visit the service was so-so. It was obvious that the bartender made better drinks for the locals, and she was more friendly to them. But...More

    thumb Buck D
    7/29/2018

      Six of us stopped for a drink Saturday night. When my husband got up to use the restroom the manager came over and took his chair. No explanation. When I said ‘that’s my husbands chair’ he informed me that the table had an extra chair...More

    thumb WhatsUp999
    7/28/2018
  •   Great New Mexico bar With lots of locals. Excellent service & Margaritas. Had some small appetizers with drinks. Got a great birthday buzz.

    thumb daleh50
    7/27/2018

      Able to order poolside from the restaurant an excellent green Chile burger with carmelized onions. Their menu is not large but is done well and service with a smile. Like the prices and their service and it is easy when it is in the hotel....More

    thumb Allan S
    7/23/2018

      You will not find a wide variety of Mexican dishes here but lots of appetizer, sandwich and burger options. The bar area is nice and a good spot to enjoy a drink. Some big cozy chairs to sit and relax with friends. We tried the...More

    thumb stltraveler67
    7/21/2018
  •   I had the tostada, a salad with chicken and avocado in a tortilla. Half an hour later, I was sick and have had diarrhea for two weeks. I had terrible stomach cramping all night long and it was a miserable trip back home. I finally...More

    thumb tatin
    7/20/2018

      You might hear of other places at Santa Fe that are famous for their green chili cheeseburger, but the one here is my favorite, and at a more reasonable price. Their little individual shakers of margarita are good too. The service is fine except for...More

    thumb forandy
    7/17/2018

      This is attached to the Inn of Governors and if you are staying here ,it is convenient. The menu is not elaborate. On one of the days when waits in other restaurants were more than half an hour,,we settled for this restaurant and were not...More

    thumb KRAMA200
    7/11/2018

mainline

  •   Nice vibe.  Good service, very nice waitress.  I enjoyed their signature margarita and the bison burger with house made potato chips.  The margarita came in a small wine glass and I was disappointed there wasn't more for $7 but then the waitress pointed out the rest of the margarita in the shaker she'd left on the table.  So a great deal instead of a disappointment.

    thumb Marilyn S.
    10/05/2017

      So I'm a local and I come here all the time. I work downtown so Del Charro is in walking distance. I love this place but tonight, I was seriously disappointed. My boyfriend quit drinking for lent and the last day of Lent is tomorrow 3/30/18. So I convinced my boyfriend to break his commitment early tonight cuz I wanted to drink. We asked for a margarita and one beer. Maybe five minutes later I ask for a shot and the server tells me he can't my boyfriend anymore. They said cuz his eyes were red?!? Um he just woke up and picked me up from work. Hasn't been drinking for 40 days and they cut him off???? Like wtf? How rude! It's not the server who makes that decision it's the manager. So Uriah, the manager decided not to serve my boyfriend. So much for celebrating he's good work! Sad night at del charro! Fair warning don't go there if your eyes are red, or maybe there just discrimination?!?

    thumb Gloria S.
    3/28/2018

      We came here for a late dinner - the food was a nice change from all the New Mexican fare we've been eating all weekend. There are few places that are open past 10pm in Santa Fe, so this was a great casual spot to grab a late night meal.

    While the food was fantastic, the service was one of the worst we've experienced. It took a while to get our drinks and order and once a bus boy dropped off our food, we rarely saw or heard from our waiter again. When they eventually came back around - we were met with attitude.

    Hopefully, our wait staff was just having a rough night and this isn't how they operate on a day to day basis. I still recommend their food if you need a late night spot!

    thumb Hayley F.
    1/15/2018
  •   Best wings ever.  Not usually a fan of bone-in wings but those chipotle wings are amazing.  They really need to bottle that sauce.  Being from the Midwest a good wing sauce is hard to find.  Guess I should have asked for the recipe lol.

    thumb Curtis N.
    11/03/2017

      Love the food and drinks...HATE, HATE, HATE that they have one gender neutral bathroom and one men's bathroom.  DISGUSTING!!!!

    thumb Andrea B.
    9/15/2017

      Food poisoning!
    We loved the Inn of the Governors and stayed there for several days with extended family during our road trip. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful and the rooms wonderful. On our last night we ate once again at Del Charro and I had severe food poisoning from the Caesar salad. A terrible way to end a great vacation and then we had to travel for 14 hours the next day. I did inform the front desk the next morning as we left (she said I looked awful) and a few days later, after no communication from the hotel, I send an email regarding the food poisoning through their website. I am amazed that once again there was no response! Thus my review....

    thumb I V.
    3/29/2018
  •   We visit Del Charro often,  my husband and I love their house margaritas, they are the best we've ever found.

    thumb Gayla R.
    4/16/2018

      Our visit started off very well. We were greeted by our server almost minutes after sitting down. He took our order got us drink, food came out great. Until he ignored us after we asked multiple times for ranch and refills, and also when we went to pay, we asked our server to split the checks 3 ways. He politely told us that he couldnt and for us to figure it out among ourselves. As we go to leave my girlfriend, friends, and I were chased into the parkinglot by our server saying we didn't leave a tip. I politely told him because of the service recieved we did not feel he earned a tip. He continued to ask with his hand out saying "He Deserved a tip". This was by far the most unproffessional service I've received from Del Charro. I feel like I got robbed by my server.

    thumb Joshua O.
    1/01/2018

      A great restaurant! There is indoor bar seating as well as patio-type tables. Nice atmosphere and staff! Food was also very good with very reasonable prices. The lemon thyme salad dressing was the best dressing I've ever had!

    thumb Lana V.
    5/21/2018
  •   No longer worth it. The food was alright, is but super busy but we had a horrible experience With our server Bianca. Whose Attitude spoke volumes, she was more interested in flirting with the drunk guys in the corner then serving the full table of servers. As people that have all worked in the industry we understand having a bad day but the attitude we were addressed with was beyond inappropriate. It took us ages to order and when we did finally ask to order we were met with contempt. How daaaare we order. Then it seemed that she was going between wanting to make amends for her attitude and contemplating throwing the check book at our heads. On top of everything she got our orders incorrect on our cards. I still over tipped even if she had charged my card correctly because I understand that a servers life is hard but I don't think that excuses the service we were provided.

    Also charging 25¢ for a pickle seems pretty silly to me after acting like we hit you in the face for asking for it.

    And yes we noticed you saying "have a nice day" while not even being able to look at us.

    thumb Piper S.
    2/17/2018

      Food is not fresh, but prices are great, the atmosphere is awesome, and the drinks are poured nice and strong. God bless the Cowboy.

    thumb Charlie R.
    8/28/2017

      this place is located in the cutest part of Santa Fe. There aren't very many places to get a late-night bite, but this place is open and the food is delicious. After a long day of driving we were looking to just experienced a little bit of Santa Fe before we went to sleep and we found this restaurant bar in cute downtown Santa Fe. Parking was easy. This is attached to a very nice hotel but you don't have to use the hotel to enjoy it. Our waiter was friendly all the people there were friendly and the margarita was outstanding. I hope you get a chance to give it a try

    thumb Annie A.
    6/20/2018
  •   A local favorite. Great house margaritas and excellent burgers with all the trimmings you can imagine.
    A real deal saloon with historic  atmosphere .

    thumb Rob S.
    7/10/2018

      The chipotle wings. Every time I get to Santa Fe I stop here for the wings. I had no better.

    thumb Rich M.
    12/08/2017

      A friend raved about the green chili cheeseburgers as being the best in Santa Fe so I had to go.  Del Charro frequents several "best of" lists and is a good choice for anyone with a large group, who wants good food, at an affordable price in a relaxed environment.  Since it is located near the Plaza, the place can get busy from all the tourists who are discovering it for the first time and locals who  frequently go there. As to the green chili cheeseburger  -- it was good, not knock your socks off great - just good.  Guess I will continue to search for that special cheeseburger in paradise as Buffett would sing.

    thumb J Warren R.
    1/22/2018
  •   Soooo good! The service, the food, the vibe!
    Plus it's open until really late, which is rare in Santa Fe haha. Really recommended!

    thumb Eliran L.
    7/08/2018

      Great food and the patio dinning was very comfortable.  Good service.  Noise level was pleasant.

    thumb John S.
    10/07/2017

      Great little bar/restaurant downtown Santa Fe. Excellent waitress (who somehow got a good photo of all of us), casual comfortable place with good New Mexico pub grub.
    Liked the queso with green chilies, the sliders looked good, cole slaw was pretty much perfect. Guinness beers for all of us after Christmas Mass, perfect for our Irish Catholic group.

    thumb Susan K.
    12/24/2017
  •   The food was sooooo good. Best we have had in Santa Fe so far. Great atmosphere. Great service. Did I mention how delicious the food was?? The chili con queso was the BEST!! And then the bill comes, with multiple appetizers and two people eating only $30!!

    thumb Tai A.
    3/07/2018

      If you are looking for a place where the gray haired Cheers rejects went to be buddies with a younger bartender, this is your place.

    thumb John A.
    3/08/2018

      The. Best. Veggie. Burger I have ever had!! Added green chiles, grilled onions, and avocado. With beer battered fries. OMG. Loved it!! Plus that sauce! I have no idea what it is but it's delicious!! The black bean veggie burger is not on their newer menus but they still have it.
    I'm so surprised how this place is not more highly rated.  We sat at the bar and got great service. The veggie burger, and the tostada salad my friend got, along with the barrel margaritas were all perfection. Plus, they're open later than 90% of all places in Santa Fe!

    thumb Marian K.
    2/10/2018
  •   This place was among our top choices when visiting, for both food and margaritas. They boast to make one of the best burgers in town and this is still the case. Their bison burger is delicious, cooked to order (don't exceed medium rare or better pick regular beef. Bison doesn't deal well with overcooking). Service quality varies but that wasn't the main reason for our disappointment at our latest visit: it was the drink we were served. We lv e our silver coins and we gladly opted to spend a couple of extra dollars for their house silver coin. Only to get something that tasted like triple sec on ice that the tequila bottle was waved over. This had not been our experience in the past and we were rather disappointed since we picked Del Charro for our first meal and drink in town with their solid (in past experiences) margaritas in mind. In the past, I would have given them 4 stars.

    thumb Neda S.
    8/08/2018

      Very very friendly staff, awesome drink selections and bartender can fabricate a drink for you as well if you ask. Had the bison burger and red and green chili pasole soup. The food was absolutely amazing. If you get the soup get the bowl ^_^. I definitely recommend this place if you've never been. The prices are pretty fair as well. I would definitely come back and the bar/restaurant layout was really relaxing .. two thumbs up

    thumb Mike C.
    12/09/2017

      This was one of my favorite places in Santa Fe it was the locals bar or you could hang out and drink a Tom Collins and walk away with a bar full of friends huge all comfy captains chairs with the circular bar that was conducive to commeraderie  we had a few nibbles but frankly I can't remember what they were we were laughing and smiling having a good time. I loved the slightly cheesy 70's atmosphere- i'm sure they must have shot an episode of Colombo or Beretta in this place.  The burgers coming out of the kitchen looked amazing and juicy- I could smell the char on them . This is definitely the place you sneak into at happy hour then realize it's 1 o'clock in the morning you can't find your shoes your wearing some guys hat,  got a pocket full of phone numbers and you and your new friends are running off to get a tattoo together. ( FYI we did not kidnap any tigers and returned with a full set of teeth!)

    thumb Kira B.
    2/04/2018
  •   Great local's spot. Excellent service, food & terrific margaritas. We were in Santa Fe 7 nites  ate & drank there 3 times. Great value on food & margaritas. Don't miss it

    thumb Steve T.
    8/18/2017

      This place probably deserves a second star based on their nachos royal, but considering I ordered a spicy marg that had a turpentine aftertaste and our server never came back to check on us and I was totally unable to get his attention for 20 minutes until he brought the check, I won't be back.

    thumb tim b.
    7/06/2018

      Came here on a recommendation of a friend and was not disappointed! Best meal I've had all summer! The house margaritas come as a whole shaker, which turned into automatic refills! I had the stuffed poblano, which was a delicious, spicy, warm and flavorful dish.. my boyfriend had the fried chicken which was SO good, and only $7 for a Thanksgiving feast quantity. We also shared the queso, which I was delighted to find was vegetarian. It was warm, thick, spicy, and did not skimp on the green Chile.

    I highly recommend this place for really good quality, and surprisingly AFFORDABLE food and cocktails.

    The ambiance was also lovely, sat outside on the covered patio and enjoyed the fresh air.

    thumb Mandi W.
    8/26/2017
  •   So i would have given it Five stars but the Sundae we ordered was old frost bitten ice cream, a tiny amount covered with broken cream. They should have just said they were out of it.  Otherwise, inexpensive quick service, good food.  Dirty fork, quickly fixed a little slow but well worth it. The staff is what makes this place great. They couldn't be any better!  Go and give it a try.

    thumb Janice F.
    12/11/2017

      Great waitstaff, very friendly. The house margaritas are fantastic, and they give you an entire shaker. The tostada was great, with a tasty lemon thyme dressing.

    thumb Brian A.
    2/22/2018

      Vegetarians: this may not be the place for you. Especially if you also don't like corn or beans, like me  There are about 3 vegetarian options on the menu: burger, onion soup and potato chips/fries. Forgive me, Del Charro's - nice fireplace, but this ain't my hippy/conscious vibe.

    thumb Ania M.
    11/03/2017