Open 11:30 am 'til Midnight Daily
Food Served 11:30 am 'til Midnight
Monday - Saturday and 'til 11 pm on Sunday

Del Charro
 

What a great place to stop for a burger with green chile! Good green chile corn chowder too. Fun place to hang out with friends and watch people walk by. Sit by the open floor to ceiling windows for a better view.

mainline

This is the Bar of the Inn Of The Governors Hotel. Its a great place to grab a drink, eat casual and cheap food and also watch a game. Like I said the food is very cheap (burgers, quesadillas etc.) But you have to try the home made chips with ranch or the loaded french fries, they are delicios. The drinks are good and cheap. My only complaint about this place is that I’m a Long Island Lover and they not allow you to drink more than two.

mainline

One does not expect such reasonable prices within walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. We went here based on Tripadvisor recommendations and that of our tour guide. Service was quite slow and not very attentive, which is why I’m giving it four stars instead of five. A $6 house margarita, which is excellent, comes with a glass and the shaker–it’s like having two or three drinks in one (be careful–the higher altitude makes it feel like four drinks!) We had green chile corn chowder–a cup was only $2 (menu price of $4 is for a bowl, but the server suggested a cup since we were eating light). It was tasty with just the right amount of heat. The quesadilla was filled to capacity; the turkey club wrap very fresh. The burgers looked good, too. For a nice lunch on a shady patio, Del Charro was a home run–but not if you’re in a hurry. We needed a relaxing break, so for us it was perfect.

mainline

Their patio is a great place to spend an evening. It’s mostly covered with a high wall to block out traffic noise and a big fireplace for the colder months. Staff were friendly and attentive. The food is a great value with lots of smaller plates (which are actually a lot of food) for $7 and under. Most of it is bar food but we found a pork adovado burrito and stuffed poblano, which were both very good, if not entirely authentic. The house margaritas are also a great deal considering how much you get. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a laid back hangout place with great prices and good food.

mainline

I was in Santa Fe on a Monday evening in late April. I had three other restaurants in mind for dinner; two were closed and one was open but completely empty. I recalled from my research on TripAdvisor that the Del Charro bar got good marks so I stopped in as a last resort for dinner.

mainline

I’m glad I did. I sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and generous. He explained the basics of tequila to me (I had long since forgotten about the importance of agave content) and steered me toward the cheapest margarita on the menu. It was outstanding. It comes with its own shaker so it’s great value since you end up getting 2-1/2 glasses full.

mainline

I ordered chips with guac and pico de gallo and a tostada. I was very pleased. The menu seems a bit limited but I enjoyed my meal while watching the NBA playoffs and chatting with some interesting local residents sitting at the bar. It was nice to meet people who have lived in the area for many years. I enjoyed the conversation so much that I ended up staying much longer than I intended. I left town the next morning with warm memories of a genuine Santa Fe experience.

mainline

My total bill for the drink, chips and salad was $15. Excellent value.

mainline

  •   Great food, excellent specials, friendly staff. We asked a local person for a recommendation and she was not wrong. We ate there in the middle of the afternoon and did not have to wait.

    thumb Carole W
    6/14/2019

      Stopped in for a drink and appetizers. OMG, can they make a marguerita!! We had the chicken quesadilla and some pulled pork sliders. Whoever the chef is, they know their stuff, these were excellent!! Definitely stop in you won’t be disappointed.

    thumb Sargent1294
    6/13/2019

      Looking for a great place to chill out? We chose Del Charro, a very reasonably priced pub at the Inn of the Governors. The vibe was nice, in the back restaurant area and my brother really loved the nacho platter which included chicken, black beans,...More

    thumb Tarananda
    6/11/2019
  •   Service was slow not because the servers were bad but they was short staffed and the place was full. The stuffed pepper came out cold. The queso was tasteless and extremely thick not from cheese. Like a thick gravy. The potato chips I thought would...More

    thumb Joebbq
    6/09/2019

      Eaten here twice with family. Everyone had different things each time and was not disappointed! Great prices for both food and drinks.Good portions too for the price! Will come again!

    thumb M H
    6/02/2019

      The Del Charro is right off the lobby of the Inn of the Governors, and also right off Don Gaspar Avenue and Alameda Streets. Because we stayed at the Inn we visited the Del Charro nightly. Their food is priced reasonably and they serve a...More

    thumb Barbagrigia
    6/02/2019
  •   Great spot for a good agave marg and some nachos! We came here off of a recommendation from my mom, who visited a couple years ago. We entered on the saloon side, and were surprised to find the lovely courtyard area in the back! Even...More

    thumb Colorado1991
    5/30/2019

      Our only experience of supper at the Del Charro was having just got off the plane and our experience was coloured by the number of locals coming in for drinks and a snack. Normally this would be fine but the noise and a limited mexican...More

    thumb AndrewJMS
    5/25/2019

      enjoyed a dinner with friends at this spot. good location, although parking was a little hard to find. Server was friendly and super quick to get our drinks and food to us. Ordered blue corn chicken enchiladas with green chile. I would have liked a...More

    thumb LocalAdventurer2018
    5/15/2019
  •   On Mother's Day we decided to run downtown instead of cooking at home for dinner. Really? What were we thinking? Everything was busy. We had however wanted to try El Charro in the past, and upon wandering in through the lively bar, a table 'just...More

    thumb Randall Douglas R
    5/12/2019

      Loved the place! Good food, outstanding margaritas, great service and very reasonable prices!Try the spicy margarita.

    thumb Barbara R
    5/06/2019

      We don't eat a lot of spicy foods, so we originally thought we would have trouble with the menu. How wrong we were! Their grilled chicken sandwich (without the bbq sauce) and side salad was delightful! and low in calories. The Black Angus burger was...More

    thumb Denise C
    5/06/2019
  •   Great food, great service, great drinks , and reasonable prices on a great selection from burgers to awesome Mexican entrees.

    thumb 67MAB
    4/29/2019

      My wife and I were looking for a relaxed atmosphere with good food and the hotel recommended Del Charro. Glad they did. So good we went back for a second time. Nothing fancy, but the food was tasty and the drinks were good.

    thumb DonnaC3644
    4/29/2019

      The restaurant is part of the Inn of the Governors hotel and the staff were great. The menu can cater for people in need of glutenfree options and I can recommend both the bison burger, complete with GF buns and the salmon tostada - this...More

    thumb Roy A
    4/27/2019
  •   The hamburger, actually bison burger was so good. Very busy place. Great margaritas also! Right in downtown area, our historic St Francis was right down the street.

    thumb greer812
    4/27/2019

      After a long day on Canyon Road visiting Contemporary Art Galleries we wanted to try the Green Chile Cheese Burger. We did not want a large portion, just a Late afternoon snack. We asked to split the burger, ordered it medium well and within a...More

    thumb JosephatFremont
    4/15/2019

      Got a tip that this was a good place to go for a killer margarita and they were absolutely correct. If you're looking for a great cocktail and some good bar food you should really make the trip to visit Del Charro!

    thumb markhleven11
    4/14/2019
  •   Very casual and fun place to eat. They are a great place to get a late meal. Service was very good. Great margaritas!

    thumb Jojos1234
    4/05/2019

      Had Silver Patron margaritas and nachos royale for a late evening snack. Both were delicious. Service was good, and we really enjoyed it all.

    thumb Janet F
    4/03/2019

      This saloon has a minimal menu that packs a punch. The burgers are on point, and the drinks can't be beaten. If you are looking to have a drink and bar food, this is the place.

    thumb katie1898
    3/31/2019
  •   Del Charro was recommended to us by our hotel concierge and I’m pleased that it was. I really liked the atmosphere - there was a cosy bar and then a dining room (you could dine in either). Service was friendly. We had pomegranate margaritas -...More

    thumb Natasha A
    3/19/2019

      Del Charro is the restaurant that shares a building with Inn of the Governors. You get a discount if staying at the motel when you dine. The only warning I would give is to eat a little early. This place is popular!

    thumb Dr0idmaker
    3/16/2019

      If you go, have a shot of tequila and order nachos. Their margaritas are so sweet it’s gross. I sent mine back. Just got tequila on the rocks. Nachos are good. That’s about all I can recommend. Staff VERY nice!!!

    thumb KWS63
    3/12/2019
  •   Will be back everything was absolutely amazing!! The margaritas were a good price for what you get!!

    thumb danaem2012
    3/11/2019

      we only had drinks but they were very good. crowded Friday night but they were accommodating to squeeze in 6 of us for just drinks. seems like a popular local hangout

    thumb Lovelandlover
    3/01/2019

      Burgers were very good, and portions on other choices were large. The menu is somewhat limited after burgers, but food was well prepared and tasty.

    thumb revawesome
    2/19/2019
  •   This is a great spot for hanging out and enjoying the Santa Fe vibe, friends, and food. The chili is absolutely fantastic! I would say it is among the absolute best I have ever had in my life, and that hurts because I used to...More

    thumb SGSnMWS
    2/16/2019

      Delicious food served with courtesy and knowledge to describe each serving sometimes so well served that you can't finish eating the plate you asked for. the desserts are so good that you have to think about your diet never forget that it's say Santa Fe...More

    thumb Cristina R
    2/11/2019

      Well prepared food, good service, reasonable prices, and great margaritas. What more could you ask from a restaurant? This place had it all, as well as a cozy atmosphere with a fireplace blazing on a cold night. I can personally vouch for the green chile...More

    thumb Ken D
    2/08/2019

mainline

  •   We stumbled on this place 100% by accident during a staycation in Santa Fe when we were hangry and looking for something to eat for Sunday Brunch. My only requirement was a Bloody Mary. This sounds easy but I don't actually drink alcohol and a lot of places premix theirs with alcohol so I wanted a virgin Bloody Mary that was actually really tasty!

    Luckily, we when we stumbled into this place by chance, they actually had an amazing Bloody Mary! Probably one of the best ones I've ever had! And their menu was perfect for us! John had queso with chips and a burger. It hit the spot perfectly for what we were both craving!

    thumb Ashley G.
    2/18/2019

      Great locals hang out. Get the real flavor of Santa Fe. Excellent house margarita served in a stainless bar shaker, usually get 2-2.5 glasses depending on the bar tender $7 !!!! ( honest ) Great menu, something for everyone. Hugh chix caesar salad $7, best quesadilla ever $5.75, green chiles con queso with chips $7 awesome, green chile chicken chowder $6, best soup I have ever eaten, green chile meatloaf $7 fabulous & for dessert we had natillas ( spanish pudding in a concha ) really really tasty. We had great service every nite. Don't miss this place, we stayed 5 nites & ate at del charro 4 times. I guess that says it all !!!!!!

    thumb Steve T.
    8/18/2018

      Just moved here from the east coast and we love this place.  They have the best burgers ever!  In addition, their service is so warm, friendly and welcoming.  So glad we found our happy place.

    thumb Cate C.
    5/10/2019
  •   This has become a favourite place of mine. The reason is that it is consistent!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere and the drinks. Such a great place for locals and tourists alike. Carlos was our latest waiter and he was wonderful!!!

    thumb Kerry Y.
    8/28/2018

      Friday evening, four of us stopped in for a margarita and snacks.  We ordered house margaritas. Our order was delivered in timely fashion even though the house was very busy. Our margaritas were so sweet and disappointing,  maybe the bartender forgot the tequila,  who knows? Just a heads up in case you are inclined to get a house margarita.
    My normal choice is Guinness and a cheese burger, out of this world good.

    thumb James T.
    8/03/2018

      This is a solid choice for a quick lunch. The inside is huge! It was fairly empty last Sunday around lunch time. It was even cinco de mayo I thought the place would be a little more poppin'. The menu is pretty standard. I got a quesadilla and my mom got the plain nachos. Both our meals and a coke came to under twenty dollars, can't beat that! I wouldn't return if I return to the area but if you're a local and just want a casual bite, head on in. Yee haw.

    thumb Adriana C.
    5/07/2019
  •   Another restaurant where the server  comes back with your order and asks who has this who has that a good server knows who ordered what especially when some people in your party ordered similar orders but slightly different and having to switch plates back and forth after there placed on the table another norm is having to ask for utensils after the food is brought out one of many restaurants who don't care or train there staff here in Santa Fe ...

    thumb Vince D.
    12/07/2018

      Sorry to say, I'm not able to say anything positive about this establishment. We tried, without success to get a table. Before we could get one we were told to leave. We tried to get a drink and we're asked to leave again!Ive never seen a bar do that!NEVER BEFORE HAVE I SEEB A BUSINESS LIKE THIS!! NOT A FAN OF DEL CHARRO!

    thumb Vern D.
    11/23/2018

      Perfect stop for a quick drink in Santa Fe. Big pint size margaritas (tons of flavors) and solid bar food (chicken tenders and fries top notch with a huge bowl of dipping sauce).

    Morale of this review - you can't go wrong with a pint of margarita.

    thumb Beanie F.
    3/13/2019
  •   I love this place. The salmon tostada is my favorite salad in Santa Fe, and their burgers are fantastic also.  Maybe the best burger in town!  Their menu has just enough variety and everything is well priced. People love their margaritas.  Its also nice to sit by the fire in the winter.  Great place to watch a game (not in a group).  It gets crowded at night so plan for that.

    thumb Michaelene K.
    5/19/2019

      Service was fast, drinks came out very quickly and made properly. We ordered Chile con queso for an app and it came out in under 2 minutes. Food was delicious. We will be back.

    thumb Hilary S.
    12/21/2018

      The best green chile cheeseburger I have ever had...no, I am not exaggerating. This was a beautiful, perfect burger-- the kind you dream about and almost never find. It's here and it's reasonably priced. The fries were pretty darn good and so were the chips I got to switch things up. The chips and queso with the tomatillo relish were excellent as well. Try the relish mixed into the queso, it'll be easier. I made a mess trying to do them separately. My dining companion just got tired of the sideshow and dumped it in. We scraped it clean in short order. That green chile cheeseburger though! OMG. I will be back for that again. Not even the hideous parking and creepy lurkers of downtown Santa Fe can stop me from returning. That is a vote of the highest kind-- I hate downtown. I'd rather go to crappy fast food than deal with the many horrors of downtown. I will face downtown for a green chile cheeseburger. Gladly. Willingly. Happily! Come get one with me. We'll sit in the bar and make nom nom noises to disturb other patrons. Let's go!

    thumb Aleatha R.
    3/07/2019
  •   Apparently this is where I go when I want to wake up in the morning in severe intestinal pain -- perhaps it's the fryer?  The bean burger is like a black crusty fried crisp.  So. Much. Pain. at 5 am.  It's 5 a.m.  I was also given the date rape drug here 15 years ago somehow.  But that was 15 years ago.

    thumb Ella N.
    3/15/2019

      Awesome burger. Reasonable price for downtown Santa Fe. Fries were very good also. Will be going back.

    thumb Christopher V.
    5/29/2019

      Thank you for changing the bathrooms back to women's and men's.   This makes me happy & I appreciate it a ton. It was no fun going into a gn bathroom with the lid raised and a mess on the floor and on the toilet. Well done!   ~ Andrea

    thumb Andrea B.
    8/25/2018
  •   Late night eats (after 11pm) with drinks is scarce in Santa Fe. One of the local host from the restaurant we were trying to get food at directed us to here since their kitchen has already started cleaning. It was packed and they just don't let you in to control the crowd. You wait at the door after you tell them how many is in your party. This way they control the crowd.

    This is a bar, it's not a very New Mexican food type place. They offer wings, burgers, quesadilla etc. you know, hand held bar foods but I'm not complaining because they have a whole page menu just for the margaritas. The food is  ok but the star is the drink. I only had one since I was just mostly hungry than wanting to drink. I had their Silvercoin Margarita made with their locally owned Silvercoin Tequilla, topped with jalapeño marinated/pickled in tequila and finished with red and green chile salted rim for a hint of spice.

    If you don't want to wait in line to get a table for sit down food late at night, this is not your place.

    thumb Marianne C.
    9/28/2018

      After several recommendations, we had to try Del Charro Saloon for the margaritas and burgers. Needless to say, they did not disappoint! The house shaker margaritas are hard to beat and their burgers are well known for top of the line. They have a variety of margaritas to choose from, and we didn't find any disappointments.

    thumb Clint S.
    8/21/2018

      The food was fairly good for the price and the location of the restaurant is nice for downtown Santa Fe .  So, I cannot knock the overall ambience of the restaurant nor the quality of food as both met my expectations going in.  However, the service we received was beyond terrible, in fact terrible would be a compliment.  For one, our waiter only came by to check on us twice throughout our almost 2 hour time at the restaurant.  One of those times only happened because one of the members of the party actually flagged him down to ask for a refill of water. Even with this request, the water wasn't delivered to our table for another 30 minutes.  During the last hour of the meal the remainder of my party sat there with empty glasses and never saw the waiter again. We eventually had enough and got him to give us the ticket so we could leave. In order to make a statement towards him and his terrible service, I left him a 4% tip and then proceeded to the restroom.  Upon coming back from the restroom the other members of my party notified me that the waiter actually began to harass them about the tip amount. This is unacceptable and someone who wants to fight customers shouldn't be working in customer service. If Del Charro continues to have employees like this representing them then I'll discourage everyone from eating there.

    thumb Rob R.
    2/23/2019
  •   I met friends for dinner here, for the one night I was in Santa Fe.  Food was delicious, and drinks were also delish!  I ordered the blue corn enchiladas with green chile.  The green chile was pretty spicy (which means it was AMAZINGLY DELISH)!  My silver coin margarita came in a pint glass and was also tasty.  Service was friendly and efficient.  The restaurant was packed but we didn't have to wait long for our orders.

    thumb Lisa Y.
    5/15/2019

      Glad to have found this place.   Referred by a woman at the Visitor's Info Center and glad we followed her recommendation.  Service was friendly. Price point was a relief from the standard tourist prices.  We had the Saturday special of chicken fajitas, and the stuffed poblano.   $7 and $8 respectively and both were delicious.  The only thing that prevented the 5th star was I had to remind the waiter that I ordered a beer.  Even though it is attached to the Inn of the Governers hotel, it has a very local vibe. We will definitely be back and make this a regular stop when we are in Santa Fe next time.

    thumb Joebob T.
    4/27/2019

      I had some of the sweet potato fries and they were soo good! The service was attentive and I enjoyed the atmosphere.

    thumb Kaylie C.
    1/15/2019
  •   As a bar, I'd give this place 2 stars, the Margaritas are overwhelmingly sweet. The mens restroom is so tiny it should just have a lock on the door. And the service here is, lets face it, bordering on awful. But. The Green Chili Cheeseburger here is absolutely amazing, the housemade potato chips are very good, and the fries are even better. Basically, my advice is to eat here, and save your drinking for someplace with better servers and bartenders. Oh, and not to mention a place with a roomier bathroom.

    thumb G. R.
    4/03/2019

      Killer Margarita with Hatch Green Chili infused Tequila, probably the best Margarita I've ever had, and trust me, I've had quite a few. Nachos were great as well. Good ambience, fire roaring in the corner. Will definitely be back!

    thumb Adam B.
    11/17/2018

      The food is consistently good. The service - consistently bad. There are plenty of wait staff but they spend more time running around doing God knows what than actually taking care of their customers. It shouldn't take 10 mins to get chips and salsa!
    I'll be back - but not when I've got somewhere to be.

    thumb Toni P.
    10/16/2018
  •   Best bar I could find in Old Town. Real drinks, not the wine-based imitations at some other places. Really nice southwest feel inside.

    thumb Richard L.
    4/16/2019

      I am so glad I tried this place out while visiting Santa Fe! The food and margaritas were fantastic and the prices were very reasonable! It's where the locals go, so you know it's going to be fun. I had the stuffed poblano and thought it was one of the best I've ever had!! I also ordered the house margarita and was really impressed with the size. It's served with a shaker and I filled my glass three times! Service was wonderful and very friendly!
    It's so nice to get great food at great prices while on vacation. It's gets really frustrating to be charged inflated prices for the same quality food. I could have eaten here everyday while in Santa Fe and tried everything on the menu!

    thumb Kathleen C.
    4/09/2019

      The hatch chili cheddar burger  here is IMO the best sandwich ever. period. anywhere.I can die happy now:) The CHARGRILLEd  beef patty has got to be 2 inches thick, cooked to desired doneness. It was juicy, perfectly seasoned awesomness on a toasted bun that was art in and of itself. The toppings were fresh and plentiful (LOVe purple onions on burgers). The sweet potato fries were also WHOA!  I ate here 3 times during my stay in SF and looking forward to coming back!! Thanks to all of the wonderful staff at Del Charro for making this trip  memorable and tasty. Special kudos to our favorite waiter Leonardo!!!!!!

    thumb Alma D.
    7/25/2018
  •   This place was among our top choices when visiting, for both food and margaritas. They boast to make one of the best burgers in town and this is still the case. Their bison burger is delicious, cooked to order (don't exceed medium rare or better pick regular beef. Bison doesn't deal well with overcooking). Service quality varies but that wasn't the main reason for our disappointment at our latest visit: it was the drink we were served. We lv e our silver coins and we gladly opted to spend a couple of extra dollars for their house silver coin. Only to get something that tasted like triple sec on ice that the tequila bottle was waved over. This had not been our experience in the past and we were rather disappointed since we picked Del Charro for our first meal and drink in town with their solid (in past experiences) margaritas in mind. In the past, I would have given them 4 stars.

    thumb Neda S.
    8/08/2018

      The food here is okay, but nothing special. The only thing that stands out to me is that I got food poisoning due to the restaurant not cooking the chicken on my salad through, at all. They didn't even bother offering to take it off the final bill. I'd avoid this place unless you want to be sick all night!

    thumb Jessica P.
    1/27/2019

      We were going to give this place 2 stars, but the service was really good and that's why we gave three stars. The food, on the other hand, was not so good. I ordered the daily special for Saturdays, which was chicken fajitas. The chicken was dry. I couldn't eat it. The rice was almost too dry to eat, but I ate a little bit of it. The best thing on the plate were the beans that tasted like they were straight from a can. I had to add some salt. My husband ordered bone-in chicken wings. They were supposed to be the best in Santa Fe, and they may be the best in Santa Fe, but not to us. We have had far more delicious wings elsewhere. The salsa for the chips had a very unexpected flavor. It was very smoky and very thick and like a purée or paste. We didn't really eat much of the chips and salsa. The fresh veggie/grilled tofu appetizer was exactly that, so it was good. The ginger dressing that came with  that dish was awesome. The drinks were a bit strong, but who can really complain about that, unless you don't like strong drinks like me, but my husband said leave it alone. We will not return to this restaurant, unfortunately.

    thumb Melissa H.
    3/01/2019