Open 11:30 am 'til Midnight Daily
Food Served 11:30 am 'til Midnight
Monday - Saturday and 'til 11 pm on Sunday

Del Charro
 

What a great place to stop for a burger with green chile! Good green chile corn chowder too. Fun place to hang out with friends and watch people walk by. Sit by the open floor to ceiling windows for a better view.

mainline

This is the Bar of the Inn Of The Governors Hotel. Its a great place to grab a drink, eat casual and cheap food and also watch a game. Like I said the food is very cheap (burgers, quesadillas etc.) But you have to try the home made chips with ranch or the loaded french fries, they are delicios. The drinks are good and cheap. My only complaint about this place is that I’m a Long Island Lover and they not allow you to drink more than two.

mainline

One does not expect such reasonable prices within walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. We went here based on Tripadvisor recommendations and that of our tour guide. Service was quite slow and not very attentive, which is why I’m giving it four stars instead of five. A $6 house margarita, which is excellent, comes with a glass and the shaker–it’s like having two or three drinks in one (be careful–the higher altitude makes it feel like four drinks!) We had green chile corn chowder–a cup was only $2 (menu price of $4 is for a bowl, but the server suggested a cup since we were eating light). It was tasty with just the right amount of heat. The quesadilla was filled to capacity; the turkey club wrap very fresh. The burgers looked good, too. For a nice lunch on a shady patio, Del Charro was a home run–but not if you’re in a hurry. We needed a relaxing break, so for us it was perfect.

mainline

Their patio is a great place to spend an evening. It’s mostly covered with a high wall to block out traffic noise and a big fireplace for the colder months. Staff were friendly and attentive. The food is a great value with lots of smaller plates (which are actually a lot of food) for $7 and under. Most of it is bar food but we found a pork adovado burrito and stuffed poblano, which were both very good, if not entirely authentic. The house margaritas are also a great deal considering how much you get. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a laid back hangout place with great prices and good food.

mainline

I was in Santa Fe on a Monday evening in late April. I had three other restaurants in mind for dinner; two were closed and one was open but completely empty. I recalled from my research on TripAdvisor that the Del Charro bar got good marks so I stopped in as a last resort for dinner.

mainline

I’m glad I did. I sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and generous. He explained the basics of tequila to me (I had long since forgotten about the importance of agave content) and steered me toward the cheapest margarita on the menu. It was outstanding. It comes with its own shaker so it’s great value since you end up getting 2-1/2 glasses full.

mainline

I ordered chips with guac and pico de gallo and a tostada. I was very pleased. The menu seems a bit limited but I enjoyed my meal while watching the NBA playoffs and chatting with some interesting local residents sitting at the bar. It was nice to meet people who have lived in the area for many years. I enjoyed the conversation so much that I ended up staying much longer than I intended. I left town the next morning with warm memories of a genuine Santa Fe experience.

mainline

My total bill for the drink, chips and salad was $15. Excellent value.

mainline

  •   After a long day on Canyon Road visiting Contemporary Art Galleries we wanted to try the Green Chile Cheese Burger. We did not want a large portion, just a Late afternoon snack. We asked to split the burger, ordered it medium well and within a...More

    thumb JosephatFremont
    4/15/2019

      Got a tip that this was a good place to go for a killer margarita and they were absolutely correct. If you're looking for a great cocktail and some good bar food you should really make the trip to visit Del Charro!

    thumb markhleven11
    4/14/2019

      Very casual and fun place to eat. They are a great place to get a late meal. Service was very good. Great margaritas!

    thumb Jojos1234
    4/05/2019
  •   Had Silver Patron margaritas and nachos royale for a late evening snack. Both were delicious. Service was good, and we really enjoyed it all.

    thumb Janet F
    4/03/2019

      This saloon has a minimal menu that packs a punch. The burgers are on point, and the drinks can't be beaten. If you are looking to have a drink and bar food, this is the place.

    thumb katie1898
    3/31/2019

      Del Charro was recommended to us by our hotel concierge and I’m pleased that it was. I really liked the atmosphere - there was a cosy bar and then a dining room (you could dine in either). Service was friendly. We had pomegranate margaritas -...More

    thumb Natasha A
    3/19/2019
  •   Del Charro is the restaurant that shares a building with Inn of the Governors. You get a discount if staying at the motel when you dine. The only warning I would give is to eat a little early. This place is popular!

    thumb Dr0idmaker
    3/16/2019

      If you go, have a shot of tequila and order nachos. Their margaritas are so sweet it’s gross. I sent mine back. Just got tequila on the rocks. Nachos are good. That’s about all I can recommend. Staff VERY nice!!!

    thumb KWS63
    3/12/2019

      Will be back everything was absolutely amazing!! The margaritas were a good price for what you get!!

    thumb danaem2012
    3/11/2019
  •   we only had drinks but they were very good. crowded Friday night but they were accommodating to squeeze in 6 of us for just drinks. seems like a popular local hangout

    thumb Lovelandlover
    3/01/2019

      Burgers were very good, and portions on other choices were large. The menu is somewhat limited after burgers, but food was well prepared and tasty.

    thumb revawesome
    2/19/2019

      This is a great spot for hanging out and enjoying the Santa Fe vibe, friends, and food. The chili is absolutely fantastic! I would say it is among the absolute best I have ever had in my life, and that hurts because I used to...More

    thumb SGSnMWS
    2/16/2019
  •   Delicious food served with courtesy and knowledge to describe each serving sometimes so well served that you can't finish eating the plate you asked for. the desserts are so good that you have to think about your diet never forget that it's say Santa Fe...More

    thumb Cristina R
    2/11/2019

      Well prepared food, good service, reasonable prices, and great margaritas. What more could you ask from a restaurant? This place had it all, as well as a cozy atmosphere with a fireplace blazing on a cold night. I can personally vouch for the green chile...More

    thumb Ken D
    2/08/2019

      My new OLD favorite place. New cooks? Or what? Anyhow, great food and the right taste. Definitely try the Burgers and the Chipotle sauce. ( I put that .....on everything!) Anyhow they are there for you, Great service too!

    thumb LocalgirlSantaFe
    2/04/2019
  •   First found this place by staying at the hotel. Found it to be fast, cheap, and surprisingly good. It’s got a bar next door, which is a locals hangout. This is not the typical hotel restaurant. And that’s good!

    thumb John Y
    2/02/2019

      I rarely dine in hotel's restaurants as I find them pretty much soulless. That doesn't stand for this one, belonging to the terrific Inn of the Governors hotel, where we stayed. After a morning sightseeing we came back for rest, after which we had fantastic...More

    thumb B1714D
    1/29/2019

      So I haven’t been to Del Charro for almost a years since the service was horrible and I felt the old manager did not want to take care of my issues due to the fact I wasn’t a tourist. Fast forward to about a week...More

    thumb javier a
    1/29/2019
  •   We were staying at the Inn of the Governors and this was a great option when we were tired or the weather was nasty. Limited Mexican menu was all good. Drinks were generous and good

    thumb Q9264HAsusanc
    1/28/2019

      A friend and I had lunch at Del Charro yesterday---I had the blue corn chicken enchiladas (with an Irish Coffee---I think they call it a Texas Coffee) afterwards. Both the meal and the drink were fabulous. In the summer they have outside dining in a...More

    thumb Ginny1234_5678
    1/20/2019

      This is a regular dinner stop for our family when in town. The food is consistently excellent. The service is great. The atmosphere is rustic, classic Santa Fe. One year there was even a mariachi band!

    thumb JulieSJulieS
    1/02/2019
  •   Family ate dinner at this restaurant attached to Inn of the Governors. My husband had the green chili blue corn tortillas and said they were three stars out of five. I had the chili relleno and it had way too much batter on it but...More

    thumb am88
    12/27/2018

      We eat here for lunch numerous times while we are in town! Fantastic food and amazing Margaritas that are the best in town and the best priced!

    thumb LLBDallas_Texas
    12/27/2018

      Got in late on Thanksgiving evening. The staff was wonderful and the food was phenomenal as always. The best burgers in town. The menu is small but everything is done well. And try the house margarita. Wonderful!

    thumb Rhonda D
    12/12/2018
  •   This definitely seems like a local hangout, which is great for a low-key evening with casual fare. Enchiladas were tasty and we'd certainly order again. Cocktails were OK. We had a few very generic margaritas that were a bit too sweet or too heavy on...More

    thumb runrabbirunn
    12/01/2018

      We chose to eat here, because it was close walking distance from our hotel and the reviews. My husband had the bison burger with homemade chips. It was moist and cooked correctly. I had enchiladas, they were spicy but not as hot as usual in...More

    thumb Judith M
    11/29/2018

      We chose to eat here, because it was close walking distance from our hotel and the reviews. My husband had the bison burger with homemade chips. It was moist and cooked correctly. I had enchiladas, they were spicy but not as hot as usual in...More

    thumb JudithM841
    11/29/2018
  •   We always hit this bar when in Santa Fe....incredible margaritas....best Nachos around. Really good food and really good and friendly service. Fireplace is a cozy spot if you can get one of those 4 chairs in front of it.

    thumb terrycarlson2018
    11/25/2018

      Nice restaurant in Sta Fe, we got here in November and was pretty cold but this place has a nice cozy fireplace where you can get warm while you get dinner or drinks. I tried for the first time Frito Pie and was amazing! Follow...More

    thumb AlbertoL646
    11/19/2018

      Nice restaurant in Sta Fe, we got here in November and was pretty cold but this place has a nice cozy fireplace where you can get warm while you get dinner or drinks. I tried for the first time Frito Pie and was amazing! Follow...More

    thumb nomadanyc
    11/19/2018

mainline

  •   We usually stay at the Governors so of course we're going to hang at Del Charro. Relaxed with good drinks and good service as usual.

    thumb Gregory L.
    4/13/2019

      Late night eats (after 11pm) with drinks is scarce in Santa Fe. One of the local host from the restaurant we were trying to get food at directed us to here since their kitchen has already started cleaning. It was packed and they just don't let you in to control the crowd. You wait at the door after you tell them how many is in your party. This way they control the crowd.

    This is a bar, it's not a very New Mexican food type place. They offer wings, burgers, quesadilla etc. you know, hand held bar foods but I'm not complaining because they have a whole page menu just for the margaritas. The food is  ok but the star is the drink. I only had one since I was just mostly hungry than wanting to drink. I had their Silvercoin Margarita made with their locally owned Silvercoin Tequilla, topped with jalapeño marinated/pickled in tequila and finished with red and green chile salted rim for a hint of spice.

    If you don't want to wait in line to get a table for sit down food late at night, this is not your place.

    thumb Marianne C.
    9/28/2018

      Friday evening, four of us stopped in for a margarita and snacks.  We ordered house margaritas. Our order was delivered in timely fashion even though the house was very busy. Our margaritas were so sweet and disappointing,  maybe the bartender forgot the tequila,  who knows? Just a heads up in case you are inclined to get a house margarita.
    My normal choice is Guinness and a cheese burger, out of this world good.

    thumb James T.
    8/03/2018
  •   After several recommendations, we had to try Del Charro Saloon for the margaritas and burgers. Needless to say, they did not disappoint! The house shaker margaritas are hard to beat and their burgers are well known for top of the line. They have a variety of margaritas to choose from, and we didn't find any disappointments.

    thumb Clint S.
    8/21/2018

      Soooo good! The service, the food, the vibe!
    Plus it's open until really late, which is rare in Santa Fe haha. Really recommended!

    thumb Eliran L.
    7/08/2018

      The food here is okay, but nothing special. The only thing that stands out to me is that I got food poisoning due to the restaurant not cooking the chicken on my salad through, at all. They didn't even bother offering to take it off the final bill. I'd avoid this place unless you want to be sick all night!

    thumb Jessica P.
    1/27/2019
  •   this place is located in the cutest part of Santa Fe. There aren't very many places to get a late-night bite, but this place is open and the food is delicious. After a long day of driving we were looking to just experienced a little bit of Santa Fe before we went to sleep and we found this restaurant bar in cute downtown Santa Fe. Parking was easy. This is attached to a very nice hotel but you don't have to use the hotel to enjoy it. Our waiter was friendly all the people there were friendly and the margarita was outstanding. I hope you get a chance to give it a try

    thumb Annie A.
    6/20/2018

      The food is consistently good. The service - consistently bad. There are plenty of wait staff but they spend more time running around doing God knows what than actually taking care of their customers. It shouldn't take 10 mins to get chips and salsa!
    I'll be back - but not when I've got somewhere to be.

    thumb Toni P.
    10/16/2018

      The hatch chili cheddar burger  here is IMO the best sandwich ever. period. anywhere.I can die happy now:) The CHARGRILLEd  beef patty has got to be 2 inches thick, cooked to desired doneness. It was juicy, perfectly seasoned awesomness on a toasted bun that was art in and of itself. The toppings were fresh and plentiful (LOVe purple onions on burgers). The sweet potato fries were also WHOA!  I ate here 3 times during my stay in SF and looking forward to coming back!! Thanks to all of the wonderful staff at Del Charro for making this trip  memorable and tasty. Special kudos to our favorite waiter Leonardo!!!!!!

    thumb Alma D.
    7/25/2018
  •   Sorry to say, I'm not able to say anything positive about this establishment. We tried, without success to get a table. Before we could get one we were told to leave. We tried to get a drink and we're asked to leave again!Ive never seen a bar do that!NEVER BEFORE HAVE I SEEB A BUSINESS LIKE THIS!! NOT A FAN OF DEL CHARRO!

    thumb Vern D.
    11/23/2018

      I had some of the sweet potato fries and they were soo good! The service was attentive and I enjoyed the atmosphere.

    thumb Kaylie C.
    1/15/2019

      The food was fairly good for the price and the location of the restaurant is nice for downtown Santa Fe .  So, I cannot knock the overall ambience of the restaurant nor the quality of food as both met my expectations going in.  However, the service we received was beyond terrible, in fact terrible would be a compliment.  For one, our waiter only came by to check on us twice throughout our almost 2 hour time at the restaurant.  One of those times only happened because one of the members of the party actually flagged him down to ask for a refill of water. Even with this request, the water wasn't delivered to our table for another 30 minutes.  During the last hour of the meal the remainder of my party sat there with empty glasses and never saw the waiter again. We eventually had enough and got him to give us the ticket so we could leave. In order to make a statement towards him and his terrible service, I left him a 4% tip and then proceeded to the restroom.  Upon coming back from the restroom the other members of my party notified me that the waiter actually began to harass them about the tip amount. This is unacceptable and someone who wants to fight customers shouldn't be working in customer service. If Del Charro continues to have employees like this representing them then I'll discourage everyone from eating there.

    thumb Rob R.
    2/23/2019
  •   Apparently this is where I go when I want to wake up in the morning in severe intestinal pain -- perhaps it's the fryer?  The bean burger is like a black crusty fried crisp.  So. Much. Pain. at 5 am.  It's 5 a.m.  I was also given the date rape drug here 15 years ago somehow.  But that was 15 years ago.

    thumb Ella N.
    3/15/2019

      Honestly, Truly, no joke, they have the best quesadilla I've ever had in my life. I didn't know quesadillas could live up to such a high standard. Quesadillas have peaked at Del Charro.

    thumb Marisa R.
    8/17/2018

      Our absolute favorite spot to eat downtown is Del Charo Saloon. Don't let the term 'saloon' fool you.  Sure, they have one of the best bars in town, but Del Charo is also a fantastic restaurant.  Their charming patio-side dining room has a cozy fireplace and the friendliest staff around the Plaza. Their prices are hard to believe.  The Caesar salad ($7.50) with chicken is a full dinner salad with a full grilled chicken breast plus a cute mini tostada of guacamole. The blue corn chicken enchiladas ($8.00) are perfectly prepared.  I think their flame-grilled New Mexico green chile cheeseburger ($12.00 with fries or side) is the best in Santa Fe...and the best value, too. If you want to enjoy a game in the saloon itself, try the nachos Royale ($10.00) for a full meal by itself. A full selection of soft and hard beverages makes this place perfect in every respect!

    thumb Greg B.
    1/20/2019
  •   Service was fast, drinks came out very quickly and made properly. We ordered Chile con queso for an app and it came out in under 2 minutes. Food was delicious. We will be back.

    thumb Hilary S.
    12/21/2018

      The best green chile cheeseburger I have ever had...no, I am not exaggerating. This was a beautiful, perfect burger-- the kind you dream about and almost never find. It's here and it's reasonably priced. The fries were pretty darn good and so were the chips I got to switch things up. The chips and queso with the tomatillo relish were excellent as well. Try the relish mixed into the queso, it'll be easier. I made a mess trying to do them separately. My dining companion just got tired of the sideshow and dumped it in. We scraped it clean in short order. That green chile cheeseburger though! OMG. I will be back for that again. Not even the hideous parking and creepy lurkers of downtown Santa Fe can stop me from returning. That is a vote of the highest kind-- I hate downtown. I'd rather go to crappy fast food than deal with the many horrors of downtown. I will face downtown for a green chile cheeseburger. Gladly. Willingly. Happily! Come get one with me. We'll sit in the bar and make nom nom noises to disturb other patrons. Let's go!

    thumb Aleatha R.
    3/07/2019

      Special for today was chicken fajita. Really wonderful! Huge plate of food for $7.00 so was easy on the budget too.

    thumb Janet S.
    2/01/2019
  •   We were going to give this place 2 stars, but the service was really good and that's why we gave three stars. The food, on the other hand, was not so good. I ordered the daily special for Saturdays, which was chicken fajitas. The chicken was dry. I couldn't eat it. The rice was almost too dry to eat, but I ate a little bit of it. The best thing on the plate were the beans that tasted like they were straight from a can. I had to add some salt. My husband ordered bone-in chicken wings. They were supposed to be the best in Santa Fe, and they may be the best in Santa Fe, but not to us. We have had far more delicious wings elsewhere. The salsa for the chips had a very unexpected flavor. It was very smoky and very thick and like a purée or paste. We didn't really eat much of the chips and salsa. The fresh veggie/grilled tofu appetizer was exactly that, so it was good. The ginger dressing that came with  that dish was awesome. The drinks were a bit strong, but who can really complain about that, unless you don't like strong drinks like me, but my husband said leave it alone. We will not return to this restaurant, unfortunately.

    thumb Melissa H.
    3/01/2019

      We visit Del Charro often,  my husband and I love their house margaritas, they are the best we've ever found.

    thumb Gayla R.
    4/16/2018

      Food poisoning!
    We loved the Inn of the Governors and stayed there for several days with extended family during our road trip. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful and the rooms wonderful. On our last night we ate once again at Del Charro and I had severe food poisoning from the Caesar salad. A terrible way to end a great vacation and then we had to travel for 14 hours the next day. I did inform the front desk the next morning as we left (she said I looked awful) and a few days later, after no communication from the hotel, I send an email regarding the food poisoning through their website. I am amazed that once again there was no response! Thus my review....

    thumb I V.
    3/29/2018
  •   This has become a favourite place of mine. The reason is that it is consistent!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere and the drinks. Such a great place for locals and tourists alike. Carlos was our latest waiter and he was wonderful!!!

    thumb Kerry Y.
    8/28/2018

      Thank you for changing the bathrooms back to women's and men's.   This makes me happy & I appreciate it a ton. It was no fun going into a gn bathroom with the lid raised and a mess on the floor and on the toilet. Well done!   ~ Andrea

    thumb Andrea B.
    8/25/2018

      A great restaurant! There is indoor bar seating as well as patio-type tables. Nice atmosphere and staff! Food was also very good with very reasonable prices. The lemon thyme salad dressing was the best dressing I've ever had!

    thumb Lana V.
    5/21/2018
  •   Great locals hang out. Get the real flavor of Santa Fe. Excellent house margarita served in a stainless bar shaker, usually get 2-2.5 glasses depending on the bar tender $7 !!!! ( honest ) Great menu, something for everyone. Hugh chix caesar salad $7, best quesadilla ever $5.75, green chiles con queso with chips $7 awesome, green chile chicken chowder $6, best soup I have ever eaten, green chile meatloaf $7 fabulous & for dessert we had natillas ( spanish pudding in a concha ) really really tasty. We had great service every nite. Don't miss this place, we stayed 5 nites & ate at del charro 4 times. I guess that says it all !!!!!!

    thumb Steve T.
    8/18/2018

      Great place for a late night snack. We only sat at the bar but I liked the atmosphere. The quesadilla was reeeeaaaaaallllly goood! The margaritas and the queso both were not too bad either! I gave it 4 stars cuz it's great for a late night food joint.

    thumb Jesse B.
    11/02/2018

      We stumbled on this place 100% by accident during a staycation in Santa Fe when we were hangry and looking for something to eat for Sunday Brunch. My only requirement was a Bloody Mary. This sounds easy but I don't actually drink alcohol and a lot of places premix theirs with alcohol so I wanted a virgin Bloody Mary that was actually really tasty!

    Luckily, we when we stumbled into this place by chance, they actually had an amazing Bloody Mary! Probably one of the best ones I've ever had! And their menu was perfect for us! John had queso with chips and a burger. It hit the spot perfectly for what we were both craving!

    thumb Ashley G.
    2/18/2019
  •   Killer Margarita with Hatch Green Chili infused Tequila, probably the best Margarita I've ever had, and trust me, I've had quite a few. Nachos were great as well. Good ambience, fire roaring in the corner. Will definitely be back!

    thumb Adam B.
    11/17/2018

      The very best chocolate mousse cake I've had in Antarctica fe. I love the texture of this chocolate and believe me I know chocolate. Go here!

    thumb Sebastian R.
    7/08/2018

      Best bar I could find in Old Town. Real drinks, not the wine-based imitations at some other places. Really nice southwest feel inside.

    thumb Richard L.
    4/16/2019