Open 11:30 am 'til Midnight Daily
Food Served 11:30 am 'til Midnight
Monday - Saturday and 'til 11 pm on Sunday

Del Charro
 

What a great place to stop for a burger with green chile! Good green chile corn chowder too. Fun place to hang out with friends and watch people walk by. Sit by the open floor to ceiling windows for a better view.

mainline

This is the Bar of the Inn Of The Governors Hotel. Its a great place to grab a drink, eat casual and cheap food and also watch a game. Like I said the food is very cheap (burgers, quesadillas etc.) But you have to try the home made chips with ranch or the loaded french fries, they are delicios. The drinks are good and cheap. My only complaint about this place is that I’m a Long Island Lover and they not allow you to drink more than two.

mainline

One does not expect such reasonable prices within walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. We went here based on Tripadvisor recommendations and that of our tour guide. Service was quite slow and not very attentive, which is why I’m giving it four stars instead of five. A $6 house margarita, which is excellent, comes with a glass and the shaker–it’s like having two or three drinks in one (be careful–the higher altitude makes it feel like four drinks!) We had green chile corn chowder–a cup was only $2 (menu price of $4 is for a bowl, but the server suggested a cup since we were eating light). It was tasty with just the right amount of heat. The quesadilla was filled to capacity; the turkey club wrap very fresh. The burgers looked good, too. For a nice lunch on a shady patio, Del Charro was a home run–but not if you’re in a hurry. We needed a relaxing break, so for us it was perfect.

mainline

Their patio is a great place to spend an evening. It’s mostly covered with a high wall to block out traffic noise and a big fireplace for the colder months. Staff were friendly and attentive. The food is a great value with lots of smaller plates (which are actually a lot of food) for $7 and under. Most of it is bar food but we found a pork adovado burrito and stuffed poblano, which were both very good, if not entirely authentic. The house margaritas are also a great deal considering how much you get. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a laid back hangout place with great prices and good food.

mainline

I was in Santa Fe on a Monday evening in late April. I had three other restaurants in mind for dinner; two were closed and one was open but completely empty. I recalled from my research on TripAdvisor that the Del Charro bar got good marks so I stopped in as a last resort for dinner.

mainline

I’m glad I did. I sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and generous. He explained the basics of tequila to me (I had long since forgotten about the importance of agave content) and steered me toward the cheapest margarita on the menu. It was outstanding. It comes with its own shaker so it’s great value since you end up getting 2-1/2 glasses full.

mainline

I ordered chips with guac and pico de gallo and a tostada. I was very pleased. The menu seems a bit limited but I enjoyed my meal while watching the NBA playoffs and chatting with some interesting local residents sitting at the bar. It was nice to meet people who have lived in the area for many years. I enjoyed the conversation so much that I ended up staying much longer than I intended. I left town the next morning with warm memories of a genuine Santa Fe experience.

mainline

My total bill for the drink, chips and salad was $15. Excellent value.

mainline

  •   We stopped here while strolling around Santa Fe. It turned out to be a good spot for a beer and a burger. We enjoyed conversation with other tourists and locals as we "bellied up to the bar". It was a fun time! As a Pa....More

    thumb gwschoenen
    7/10/2019

      Excellent bar food at reasonable prices. Great drinks too Helpful staff and it appears that the local have discovered this spot too.

    thumb 322mississippiguy
    7/09/2019

      After a long day we were looking for a good place to eat with a taste of Santa Fe. The kids had chicken tenders, so crunchy, flavorful and juicy. We also had thick and juicy burgers. The pozole was good with a kick. The enchiladas...More

    thumb m0ssy0ak
    7/06/2019
  •   It's a super cozy spot. Love the Margaritas! The food is good too! We have stopped for just drinks and also for lunch or dinner on several occasions.

    thumb JnettM1
    6/25/2019

      My friend and I were in town for one night and stopped in here for dinner/drinks. What a fun place! The food was so good & the atmosphere was a blast! Our waitress was so upbeat and fun, we laughed all night. Great vibes! We...More

    thumb katiecuvie14
    6/25/2019

      We have eaten here as couples and in large group and always excellent! Staff is amazing, food excellent great bar, and great ambience. Enjoy!

    thumb 87vette
    6/23/2019
  •   Ok for a quick bite. Homemade chips are good. Not sure we would want to dine here often, not a wife variety on the menu.

    thumb Dottie47
    6/19/2019

      On our first night in town, after driving most of the day, we were delighted to walk here and have such a delicious casual dinner (no lines of people or 9:00 openings only). My husband and I each had hearty and wonderful bowls of red...More

    thumb debbietN4673NG
    6/16/2019

      Great food, excellent specials, friendly staff. We asked a local person for a recommendation and she was not wrong. We ate there in the middle of the afternoon and did not have to wait.

    thumb Carole W
    6/14/2019
  •   Stopped in for a drink and appetizers. OMG, can they make a marguerita!! We had the chicken quesadilla and some pulled pork sliders. Whoever the chef is, they know their stuff, these were excellent!! Definitely stop in you won’t be disappointed.

    thumb Sargent1294
    6/13/2019

      Looking for a great place to chill out? We chose Del Charro, a very reasonably priced pub at the Inn of the Governors. The vibe was nice, in the back restaurant area and my brother really loved the nacho platter which included chicken, black beans,...More

    thumb Tarananda
    6/11/2019

      Service was slow not because the servers were bad but they was short staffed and the place was full. The stuffed pepper came out cold. The queso was tasteless and extremely thick not from cheese. Like a thick gravy. The potato chips I thought would...More

    thumb Joebbq
    6/09/2019
  •   Eaten here twice with family. Everyone had different things each time and was not disappointed! Great prices for both food and drinks.Good portions too for the price! Will come again!

    thumb M H
    6/02/2019

      The Del Charro is right off the lobby of the Inn of the Governors, and also right off Don Gaspar Avenue and Alameda Streets. Because we stayed at the Inn we visited the Del Charro nightly. Their food is priced reasonably and they serve a...More

    thumb Barbagrigia
    6/02/2019

      Great spot for a good agave marg and some nachos! We came here off of a recommendation from my mom, who visited a couple years ago. We entered on the saloon side, and were surprised to find the lovely courtyard area in the back! Even...More

    thumb Colorado1991
    5/30/2019
  •   Our only experience of supper at the Del Charro was having just got off the plane and our experience was coloured by the number of locals coming in for drinks and a snack. Normally this would be fine but the noise and a limited mexican...More

    thumb AndrewJMS
    5/25/2019

      Our only experience of supper at the Del Charro was having just got off the plane and our experience was coloured by the number of locals coming in for drinks and a snack. Normally this would be fine but the noise and a limited mexican...More

    thumb Andrew S
    5/25/2019

      enjoyed a dinner with friends at this spot. good location, although parking was a little hard to find. Server was friendly and super quick to get our drinks and food to us. Ordered blue corn chicken enchiladas with green chile. I would have liked a...More

    thumb LocalAdventurer2018
    5/15/2019
  •   On Mother's Day we decided to run downtown instead of cooking at home for dinner. Really? What were we thinking? Everything was busy. We had however wanted to try El Charro in the past, and upon wandering in through the lively bar, a table 'just...More

    thumb Randall Douglas R
    5/12/2019

      Loved the place! Good food, outstanding margaritas, great service and very reasonable prices!Try the spicy margarita.

    thumb Barbara R
    5/06/2019

      We don't eat a lot of spicy foods, so we originally thought we would have trouble with the menu. How wrong we were! Their grilled chicken sandwich (without the bbq sauce) and side salad was delightful! and low in calories. The Black Angus burger was...More

    thumb Denise C
    5/06/2019
  •   Great food, great service, great drinks , and reasonable prices on a great selection from burgers to awesome Mexican entrees.

    thumb 67MAB
    4/29/2019

      My wife and I were looking for a relaxed atmosphere with good food and the hotel recommended Del Charro. Glad they did. So good we went back for a second time. Nothing fancy, but the food was tasty and the drinks were good.

    thumb DonnaC3644
    4/29/2019

      The restaurant is part of the Inn of the Governors hotel and the staff were great. The menu can cater for people in need of glutenfree options and I can recommend both the bison burger, complete with GF buns and the salmon tostada - this...More

    thumb Roy A
    4/27/2019
  •   The hamburger, actually bison burger was so good. Very busy place. Great margaritas also! Right in downtown area, our historic St Francis was right down the street.

    thumb greer812
    4/27/2019

      After a long day on Canyon Road visiting Contemporary Art Galleries we wanted to try the Green Chile Cheese Burger. We did not want a large portion, just a Late afternoon snack. We asked to split the burger, ordered it medium well and within a...More

    thumb JosephatFremont
    4/15/2019

      Got a tip that this was a good place to go for a killer margarita and they were absolutely correct. If you're looking for a great cocktail and some good bar food you should really make the trip to visit Del Charro!

    thumb markhleven11
    4/14/2019
  •   Very casual and fun place to eat. They are a great place to get a late meal. Service was very good. Great margaritas!

    thumb Jojos1234
    4/05/2019

      Had Silver Patron margaritas and nachos royale for a late evening snack. Both were delicious. Service was good, and we really enjoyed it all.

    thumb Janet F
    4/03/2019

      This saloon has a minimal menu that packs a punch. The burgers are on point, and the drinks can't be beaten. If you are looking to have a drink and bar food, this is the place.

    thumb katie1898
    3/31/2019

mainline

  •   I had some of the sweet potato fries and they were soo good! The service was attentive and I enjoyed the atmosphere.

    thumb Kaylie C.
    1/15/2019

      After several recommendations, we had to try Del Charro Saloon for the margaritas and burgers. Needless to say, they did not disappoint! The house shaker margaritas are hard to beat and their burgers are well known for top of the line. They have a variety of margaritas to choose from, and we didn't find any disappointments.

    thumb Clint S.
    8/21/2018

      As a bar, I'd give this place 2 stars, the Margaritas are overwhelmingly sweet. The mens restroom is so tiny it should just have a lock on the door. And the service here is, lets face it, bordering on awful. But. The Green Chili Cheeseburger here is absolutely amazing, the housemade potato chips are very good, and the fries are even better. Basically, my advice is to eat here, and save your drinking for someplace with better servers and bartenders. Oh, and not to mention a place with a roomier bathroom.

    thumb G. R.
    4/03/2019
  •   Sancho EXCEEDS expectations. He is always one step ahead of what I'm thinking (very contrary to the normal bar experience.) My goodness. This may be my new favorite bar in Santa Fe. Hands down.

    thumb Sarah M.
    7/09/2019

      Another restaurant where the server  comes back with your order and asks who has this who has that a good server knows who ordered what especially when some people in your party ordered similar orders but slightly different and having to switch plates back and forth after there placed on the table another norm is having to ask for utensils after the food is brought out one of many restaurants who don't care or train there staff here in Santa Fe ...

    thumb Vince D.
    12/07/2018

      Great place for a late night snack. We only sat at the bar but I liked the atmosphere. The quesadilla was reeeeaaaaaallllly goood! The margaritas and the queso both were not too bad either! I gave it 4 stars cuz it's great for a late night food joint.

    thumb Jesse B.
    11/02/2018
  •   We were going to give this place 2 stars, but the service was really good and that's why we gave three stars. The food, on the other hand, was not so good. I ordered the daily special for Saturdays, which was chicken fajitas. The chicken was dry. I couldn't eat it. The rice was almost too dry to eat, but I ate a little bit of it. The best thing on the plate were the beans that tasted like they were straight from a can. I had to add some salt. My husband ordered bone-in chicken wings. They were supposed to be the best in Santa Fe, and they may be the best in Santa Fe, but not to us. We have had far more delicious wings elsewhere. The salsa for the chips had a very unexpected flavor. It was very smoky and very thick and like a purée or paste. We didn't really eat much of the chips and salsa. The fresh veggie/grilled tofu appetizer was exactly that, so it was good. The ginger dressing that came with  that dish was awesome. The drinks were a bit strong, but who can really complain about that, unless you don't like strong drinks like me, but my husband said leave it alone. We will not return to this restaurant, unfortunately.

    thumb Melissa H.
    3/01/2019

      Apparently this is where I go when I want to wake up in the morning in severe intestinal pain -- perhaps it's the fryer?  The bean burger is like a black crusty fried crisp.  So. Much. Pain. at 5 am.  It's 5 a.m.  I was also given the date rape drug here 15 years ago somehow.  But that was 15 years ago.

    thumb Ella N.
    3/15/2019

      Worst chicken enchiladas I have ever had. Over- spiced and you would have needed a tweezers and magnifying glass to find the chicken. The soup was okay and my wife's tostado was okay. Cannot recommend as an eating establishment and would say drink there and eat somewhere else.

    thumb Evan S.
    6/30/2019
  •   I was invited here by a friend who actually lives in Santa Fe (I'm in the abq area).
    So I had never heard of this bar ever and oddly enough my boyfriend was telling me about their margaritas right before I got invited (odd coincidence).
    I wanted to try this margarita for myself so I ended up going. I ordered a green Chile cheeseburger with fries. It was good! But not five stars good.
    As for the margarita.... excellent! It came with the remaining in a shaker on the side. It was perfectly blended and strong without being overly strong. The price for these drinks is amazing for the amount you get.
    All in all the appetizers (tapas) were good and paired well with the alcoholic drinks.
    I would recommend this place to a friend who is looking for a place for a snack and alcoholic drink as they have many options of local and commercial beers on tap as well.
    It was a pleasant experience with friends.

    thumb Kim R.
    2/25/2019

      Service was fast, drinks came out very quickly and made properly. We ordered Chile con queso for an app and it came out in under 2 minutes. Food was delicious. We will be back.

    thumb Hilary S.
    12/21/2018

      This has become a favourite place of mine. The reason is that it is consistent!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere and the drinks. Such a great place for locals and tourists alike. Carlos was our latest waiter and he was wonderful!!!

    thumb Kerry Y.
    8/28/2018
  •   The food here is okay, but nothing special. The only thing that stands out to me is that I got food poisoning due to the restaurant not cooking the chicken on my salad through, at all. They didn't even bother offering to take it off the final bill. I'd avoid this place unless you want to be sick all night!

    thumb Jessica P.
    1/27/2019

      Best food and best drinks. Music is straight fire. One room for the younger gen cultured music and then another room for the old gold throwbacks. The under ground shit.

    thumb Lexi O.
    7/05/2019

      Awesome burger. Reasonable price for downtown Santa Fe. Fries were very good also. Will be going back.

    thumb Christopher V.
    5/29/2019
  •   So great, amazing food and everyone in Santa Fe who has been there has had a great time, guarantee it!
    It's super busy most of the time, so it always looks to me like the servers are hustling and always in good spirits.

    thumb Lisa G.
    7/07/2019

      Special for today was chicken fajita. Really wonderful! Huge plate of food for $7.00 so was easy on the budget too.

    thumb Janet S.
    2/01/2019

      Late night eats (after 11pm) with drinks is scarce in Santa Fe. One of the local host from the restaurant we were trying to get food at directed us to here since their kitchen has already started cleaning. It was packed and they just don't let you in to control the crowd. You wait at the door after you tell them how many is in your party. This way they control the crowd.

    This is a bar, it's not a very New Mexican food type place. They offer wings, burgers, quesadilla etc. you know, hand held bar foods but I'm not complaining because they have a whole page menu just for the margaritas. The food is  ok but the star is the drink. I only had one since I was just mostly hungry than wanting to drink. I had their Silvercoin Margarita made with their locally owned Silvercoin Tequilla, topped with jalapeño marinated/pickled in tequila and finished with red and green chile salted rim for a hint of spice.

    If you don't want to wait in line to get a table for sit down food late at night, this is not your place.

    thumb Marianne C.
    9/28/2018
  •   This is a solid choice for a quick lunch. The inside is huge! It was fairly empty last Sunday around lunch time. It was even cinco de mayo I thought the place would be a little more poppin'. The menu is pretty standard. I got a quesadilla and my mom got the plain nachos. Both our meals and a coke came to under twenty dollars, can't beat that! I wouldn't return if I return to the area but if you're a local and just want a casual bite, head on in. Yee haw.

    thumb Adriana C.
    5/07/2019

      I love this place. The salmon tostada is my favorite salad in Santa Fe, and their burgers are fantastic also.  Maybe the best burger in town!  Their menu has just enough variety and everything is well priced. People love their margaritas.  Its also nice to sit by the fire in the winter.  Great place to watch a game (not in a group).  It gets crowded at night so plan for that.

    thumb Michaelene K.
    5/19/2019

      Our absolute favorite spot to eat downtown is Del Charo Saloon. Don't let the term 'saloon' fool you.  Sure, they have one of the best bars in town, but Del Charo is also a fantastic restaurant.  Their charming patio-side dining room has a cozy fireplace and the friendliest staff around the Plaza. Their prices are hard to believe.  The Caesar salad ($7.50) with chicken is a full dinner salad with a full grilled chicken breast plus a cute mini tostada of guacamole. The blue corn chicken enchiladas ($8.00) are perfectly prepared.  I think their flame-grilled New Mexico green chile cheeseburger ($12.00 with fries or side) is the best in Santa Fe...and the best value, too. If you want to enjoy a game in the saloon itself, try the nachos Royale ($10.00) for a full meal by itself. A full selection of soft and hard beverages makes this place perfect in every respect!

    thumb Greg B.
    1/20/2019
  •   Just moved here from the east coast and we love this place.  They have the best burgers ever!  In addition, their service is so warm, friendly and welcoming.  So glad we found our happy place.

    thumb Cate C.
    5/10/2019

      Perfect stop for a quick drink in Santa Fe. Big pint size margaritas (tons of flavors) and solid bar food (chicken tenders and fries top notch with a huge bowl of dipping sauce).

    Morale of this review - you can't go wrong with a pint of margarita.

    thumb Beanie F.
    3/13/2019

      I am so glad I tried this place out while visiting Santa Fe! The food and margaritas were fantastic and the prices were very reasonable! It's where the locals go, so you know it's going to be fun. I had the stuffed poblano and thought it was one of the best I've ever had!! I also ordered the house margarita and was really impressed with the size. It's served with a shaker and I filled my glass three times! Service was wonderful and very friendly!
    It's so nice to get great food at great prices while on vacation. It's gets really frustrating to be charged inflated prices for the same quality food. I could have eaten here everyday while in Santa Fe and tried everything on the menu!

    thumb Kathleen C.
    4/09/2019
  •   Friendly, casual, good food, great prices, and open on Sunday.

    thumb Elle S.
    5/02/2019

      The food was fairly good for the price and the location of the restaurant is nice for downtown Santa Fe .  So, I cannot knock the overall ambience of the restaurant nor the quality of food as both met my expectations going in.  However, the service we received was beyond terrible, in fact terrible would be a compliment.  For one, our waiter only came by to check on us twice throughout our almost 2 hour time at the restaurant.  One of those times only happened because one of the members of the party actually flagged him down to ask for a refill of water. Even with this request, the water wasn't delivered to our table for another 30 minutes.  During the last hour of the meal the remainder of my party sat there with empty glasses and never saw the waiter again. We eventually had enough and got him to give us the ticket so we could leave. In order to make a statement towards him and his terrible service, I left him a 4% tip and then proceeded to the restroom.  Upon coming back from the restroom the other members of my party notified me that the waiter actually began to harass them about the tip amount. This is unacceptable and someone who wants to fight customers shouldn't be working in customer service. If Del Charro continues to have employees like this representing them then I'll discourage everyone from eating there.

    thumb Rob R.
    2/23/2019

      Best bar I could find in Old Town. Real drinks, not the wine-based imitations at some other places. Really nice southwest feel inside.

    thumb Richard L.
    4/16/2019
  •   Thank you for changing the bathrooms back to women's and men's.   This makes me happy & I appreciate it a ton. It was no fun going into a gn bathroom with the lid raised and a mess on the floor and on the toilet. Well done!   ~ Andrea

    thumb Andrea B.
    8/25/2018

      The food is consistently good. The service - consistently bad. There are plenty of wait staff but they spend more time running around doing God knows what than actually taking care of their customers. It shouldn't take 10 mins to get chips and salsa!
    I'll be back - but not when I've got somewhere to be.

    thumb Toni P.
    10/16/2018

      We usually stay at the Governors so of course we're going to hang at Del Charro. Relaxed with good drinks and good service as usual.

    thumb Gregory L.
    4/13/2019